Japanese · Restaurants · Seafood · Special Occasion

Shokunin – Supa dupa fly

It was one of those days. I was dying for a fix of excellent music and food to boost my mood.  So I said to L,

Beep beep, who got the keys to the Jeep? V-r-rrrrrrrooooom!
(uh-huh) You’re drivin to Shokunin
Top down, loud sounds, see my chefs (uhh)
Give them pounds, now look who it be (who it be)
It be me me me and L-othy (me me!)
Look like it’s bout to rain, what a shame (uh-huh)
I got the Armor-All to shine up the stain
Oh Chrissy, try to maintain
Icky-icky-icky-icky-icky-icky-icky..

Okay, now that I got Missy Elliot out of my system, let’s move on. Though Shokunin’s patio looked inviting,  L and I chose to sit inside because I wanted to be out of the heat and I enjoy hearing the music when I’m there. We sat by the chef’s section which is right by the kitchen. Shokunin must have awesome ventilation because there was zero smoke smell on us when I got home.

pork.jpg

Darren, the owner/chef of the restaurant suggested we try the 6 oz Striploin with miso buttered morel mushrooms and pea shoots ($24). Damn – this was a delicious dish. The beef was soft and buttery and melted in your mouth. The morel mushrooms were delicate, tender and juicy. Eating the beef, mashed potatoes and morels all together was heaven in a bite. I should have eaten more slowly before ordering more food. This dish was actually very filling.

beef.jpg

Next up was the handmade gyoza ($11). Slow cooked, these little dumpling packets were filled with tender beef tongue, sweet soy, chicken fat and chili oil. I enjoyed the beautiful crust on the bottom layer of the gyoza.

gyoza.jpg

One of L’s new favourite dishes was the corn fritters with matcha salt ($11). The combination of the salt flakes and the sweet squeaky kernels just killed it. You can taste that quality in the few core ingredients – the salt, the matcha and the fresh corn.

corn.jpg

Had I waited five minutes, I would have realized how full I was. Instead, I ordered chicken thigh skewers, pork skewers, chicken neck and two bowls of rice. I was too full to  enjoy the rest of the food.

Thigh.jpg

Service was fantastic. Our server was a young man with a silver-tongue. Despite his youth, he exhibited both charm and wit. He even managed to poke fun of Darren’s strict disciplinary leadership without getting a verbal lashing. I think I saw Darren smile too. Another feat. Who is this guy? Unfortunately, I did not get his name.

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 7.33.05 PM.png

Shokunin is now serving lunch. Both inside the restaurant and through the takeout window. I’m excited to see what its all about. Stay tuned.

Shokunin Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

