Comfort food · Italian · Restaurants

Cotto Italian Comfort Food

I had plans to hit up a 90’s Old School Party on Saturday. I wanted to kick back and relive my youth and who better to share this experience with than my husband. However, L was not keen and instead, offered to take me out for dinner. I was easily persuaded. I picked Cotto in Kensington as I’ve been meaning to go for months. I hate stereotypes but I love cheesy music, so for this post I chose That’s Amore .

We arrived at 7:00 pm. We sat next to two woman who were chatting away. Their plates of pasta lay untouched. L and I ordered our drinks at 7:10 pm. The woman next to us still hadn’t touched her plate, and asked the server for cheese for her carbonara. At about 7:20 pm she started to eat. She called over her server and said while the porchetta was delicious, it was cold. I could barely choke down my indignation. Hey Carbonara Lady, you were yakking away for a good 20 minutes. Of course your food got cold. All your hot air couldn’t heat up your pasta, even though you were huffing up a storm. The server graciously brought Carbonara Lady a fresh bowl.

The complimentary house baked bread was so good I wanted to buy some to take home. The interior of the bread was cake-like and a touch sweet, with a hint of rosemary. The crust itself was beautifully baked with a nice crumbly exterior. I like the  brown bag container – it was a cute touch.

I asked for a white wine that wasn’t sweet or dry. Our server recommended a chardonnay ($7) that was just what I wanted. And for seven dollars – a total steal. L stuck with a glass of Peroni ($7).

L and I shared the Alla Luciana ($13). The calamari was so silky and smooth. You know it’s good when it you actually prefer the calamari sautéed rather than fried. The tomato sauce was tangy with a bit of a heat. Best calamari I’ve eaten.

Screen Shot 2017-06-21 at 6.53.50 PM.png

I ordered the Spaghetti Carbonara ($19). There was a ton of smoked boar guanciale – so much I could get multiple pieces in each bite of pasta. The large piece of seared porchetta belly was really rich. The noodles were firm but still took on the flavour of the sauce.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 6.32.00 PM

The Ricotta Gnocchi ($20) was my favourite of the pastas. The tomato sauce was light yet creamy and flavourful. The gnocchi was soft and absorbed up all that sauce. There was ample pieces of fior di latte that were like clouds of melted gooey goodness.

Screen Shot 2017-06-20 at 6.32.12 PM

The food here is delicious and so affordable. We were both stuffed after sharing the appetizer and two pastas. The menu’s not large but I have a feeling that what is on it is stellar. I want to return to try the pork chops, bruschetta, and caprese.

Cotto Italian Comfort Food Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

