Cheap Eats · Restaurants · Vietnamese

Song Huong

For this posting, I’m going to play Josh Homme – Desert Roll, because Song Huong is the sort of restaurant I think Anthony Bourdain would approve of in spades. After I finished helping at Jyoti Gondek’s Ward 3 fundraiser at the Wyndham Garden’s, L asked me if I wanted to go out to eat. Man, no wonder I’m crazy about this guy. Yes, of course I want to go out.

Song Huong is located in the industrial part of the NE, about 10 minutes from the airport. I’ve heard so much about the food at Song Huong. The food here is not hyped up at all. This was the first time I tried Vietnamese food outside of Duncan Ly’s restaurant upscale cuisine at Foreign Concept and  Lam Pham’s Pure Vietnamese Restaurant that I experienced such a range of dimension of flavours. I like Vietnamese food in Calgary, but the food at Song Huong is different. The flavours are more intense and lively, the combination of ingredients make the food sing.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 6.16.31 PM.png

L and I shared a small order of spring rolls. I’ve heard Song Huong uses rice paper for the wrapper. The result is an ultra-light, delicate wrapper that melts on your tongue. I could eat these all day long.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 6.16.08 PM.png

Next we shared a bowl of bun bo hue, without the blood pudding. I’m sure blood pudding is delicious, but I cannot bring myself to try it. Instead of the usual sprouts and basil, we received a fresh pile of assorted vegetables that added a different dimension to the soup.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 6.16.42 PM.png

The broth was light and had these gorgeous notes of sour, tart and sweet. The assortment of meats, the smooth silky noodles, the crunch of the mixed vegetables was amazing. There was so much going on and I couldn’t even describe it as it was all new to me.

Screen Shot 2017-04-29 at 6.16.18 PM.png

I ordered the clam vermicelli everyone raves about. I didn’t know how to eat this dish so I asked our server. You added the salad mixture, stir it up and if you want, you can sip on the soup or pour it in. I prefer to pour a little the soup into the mixture, as it makes it less spicy. I detected fried garlic and a bunch of other spices from the salty brown sauce we added to it. The noodles were firm and had a nice bounce to it.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 1.48.24 PM.png

I wonder if I convince Jyoti to do a pop up event at Song Huong. Wouldn’t that be cool? I want to return to try the salad rolls, beef sashimi and more of the bun bo hue. Damn, the food here is delicious and so inexpensive. Service was great and the owner I spoke to was so welcoming and chill that he reminded me of younger brother Jacuzzi. Fei Po gives Song Huong two fat thumbs up and makes it on my list of favourite restaurants in Calgary. In fact, I’m already planning my next visit this week with my office family.

Song Huong Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

