Beer · Burgers · Pubs · Restaurants

Garrison Pub and Eatery

Lately L and I have been hanging out at the Garrison Pub and Eatery. I like the crowd and the food is superior to your average pub. Each time I’ve visited, the place was packed with customers. The two servers were busy as bees dropping off food and beers and picking up orders. I never mind the wait. The service is friendly and apologetic if we have to wait a little extra.

unnamed

I usually come in for the super large, meaty wings with a crunchy batter ($11.99). On my last visit, I tried the Halibut Burger with Fries ($14.99) and the Moroccan Lamb Spring Rolls ($8.50).

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 1.24.02 PM.png

I would pass on the spring rolls. The exterior shell of the roll was bendy and limp. It tasted like it was baked instead of fried. The cumin and other spices in the ground lamb was tasty, but the amount of filling was sparse so that the shell caved in when i took a bite.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 1.23.48 PM.png

The halibut burger was delicious. The fish wasn’t dry and overcooked. Instead, the meat was flaky and moist. The butter lettuce tasted like it was from my favourite farm – Broxburn. The beer batter was crisp and light. The fries were hot from the fryer and reminded me of New York fries.

Screen Shot 2017-04-28 at 1.23.38 PM.png

You can really taste the quality of the ingredients at Garrison. Nothing I tried reminds me of the previously frozen, M&M type of stuff you get at some pubs.

I’m keen to return to try the most popular items, the fish and chips ($15), pizzas, and the crispy prawn noodles ($10). For pub grub, I haven’t found better in Calgary. Thus, Garrison Pub makes it on Fei Po’s list of favourite restaurants in Calgary.

Garrison Pub & Eatery Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

