Bars/Lounges · Beer · Brunch · Fusion · Happy Hour · Restaurants

The Mission – Happy Hour

I was at a yoga party a while back and a fellow yogi told me that a new chef has taken over The Mission. I think he was either the father or knew the chef is some capacity. In either case, he piqued my interest. So when my buddy Jaime visited me last weekend we dropped by to try some bites from their happy hour. Mission has a great happy hour. From 3:00pm-6:00 pm, beers and select wines and cocktails are only $6.00. All appetizers are half off. On Sunday, it’s happy hour all day.

Happy Hour.jpg

We ordered the Brussel Sprouts ($10, $5 hh), Fried Pickles ($11, $5.5 hh), and Tuna Poke Hand Cones ($10, $5 hh).  I love how the light filters through the windows onto the tables. We could feel the sun on our skin, even though it was -10 outside.

Wine.jpg

For drinks, we asked our server Jess for a recommendation. Jess’ pick was a dry rose – Murmurium (France, $12, $6 hh). For six bucks, this was a winner! I would come back just for this wondrously priced rose wine. The colour was a pretty amber hue.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.08.49 PM.png

The brussel sprouts were nicely browned, sweet from the maple lemon glaze. The crunchy almonds were a good contrast to the glaze, otherwise it would have been too sweet. I was surprised the portion was so large.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.08.25 PM

I liked the fried pickles, which are house-pickled zucchini. I didn’t care for the sweet apricot relish as I thought the crunchy critters were tasty enough on it’s own. These reminded me of White Spot’s zoo sticks, but it tasted way better.

 

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 9.08.37 PM.png

The tuna poke yellow fin hand cones were nice. The bits of tuna tasted fresh and instead of rice, these were packed with carrots, red onions, and red peppers. The plate was dotted with wasabi and tobiko. A good option if you’re watching your weight. I’d like to return for happy hour to try the chicken wings with hoisin garlic glaze ($15, lb), the seared yellow fin tuna ($14) and more of that rose.

The Mission Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

