Deli · French · Restaurants

Peasant Cheese

My new favourite find is Peasant Cheese in Kensington. The service is fantastic, the selection is amazing, and the prices are affordable. I walked in and a lovely staffer immediately helped me find the right cheese to go with my clam pizza. She also found me a chorizo which would go well with the cheese and clams.

peasant

I picked up a baguette, a chunk of duck pate, a dozen duck eggs, a big chuck of St. Andre cheese (double-brined), and chorizo for $36.00. With the excellent personalized help and quality of everything I picked up – this was quite a bargain.

baguette

When I returned home, L and I cracked open a bottle of wine and we indulged in the pate. Delicious, it was creamy and light. Peasant Cheese’s version reminded me of the pate at Cassis Bistro, which is my one of my favourite versions in the city. However, in my opinion, the best pate award still goes to Justin Leboe from Model Milk. Sometimes Pigeonhole  features Leboe’s chicken pate. His pate is smooth like butter.

pate

I used the Clam-Chowder recipe from Cooking with the New York Times. The St. Andre cheese I picked up really kicked this pizza up a notch. Buttery with an edible rind, this was a rich, smooth cheese with a unique taste.

pizza

I dropped by Sidewalk Citizen to pick up dough ($5.00) for my pizza. I also visited Vine Styles to pick up beers. Vine Styles has a non generic selection of bubbles. I’ll have to drop by again and see if I can find a new favourite bottle of bubbly.

My experience at Peasant Cheese was a positive one. I can still remember when I was in school and I went to Janice Beaton’s cheese shop to pick up three small chunks of cheese for $60.00. Peasant Cheese makes it on Fei Po’s list of favourite eats in Calgary.

Peasant Cheese Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

