Happy Hour · Japanese · Sushi

Goro and Gun -Happy Hour

I think one of the best bloggers, vegan bakery chefs, and photographers in Calgary is Jomama, aka Jomar of @jomamaeats. I like his photography style – his photos are clean, simple and elegant. After viewing his website,  I realized how terrible my own site looks in comparison. I contacted him and asked if I could treat him to a bowl of ramen in return for his advice. He kindly obliged to meet his #1 fan at Goro and Gun. I picked Goro and Gun because Jomar said in his blog that he wanted to try the mushroom ramen. He’s also a vegetarian, which makes it trickier to find a place where he can eat.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.02.51 PM.png

When Jomar arrived he introduced himself and said, “Hi Fei Po (the name of my blog)!.”  I was taken aback because I haven’t been called fei po (at least to my face) since I lived at home with my family.  Fei po in Cantonese means “obese woman” and it is meant as an insult for overweight females.

The restaurant filled up by the time we left. Jomar mentioned that Goro and Gun gets very busy in the afternoons. I can see why. The venue is nice. Once inside, you don’t feel like you’re in a mall. Service by Katie was excellent and the happy hour prices are darn cheap. Sapporo, house wine and several appetizers go for $5.00.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.02.23 PM.png

Jomar ordered the Mushroom Ramen ($15.50), which contained oyster and button mushrooms. Arugula, roasted tomatoes and spinach ramen noodles were intermingled in the vegetarian broth. I asked Jomar what he thought of his ramen. He thought the broth had good umami and it was tasty if you like mushrooms (which he does). The green noodles were chewy and the portion was filling enough for him. He noticed the broth wasn’t piping hot but he thought it was because he took so long taking photos.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.02.30 PM.png

Since it was happy hour, I ordered the Tomo roll ($5), featured sashimi ($5) and Tuna Poke ($5.00). I didn’t order any beer ($5) or wine ($5) because it was 3:30 pm and I was going to hot yoga in the evening.

The Tomo roll was filled with a piece of raw salmon, tomatoes and rice, wrapped with crisp nori, a soy wrapper, then drizzled with a creamy hot sauce. I thought the roll was well-made and all the ingredients tasted fresh.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.02.37 PM.png

The tuna poke was a small portion. The albacore tuna was cool on the tongue, cut into cubes. I liked the mixture of creamy avocado, seaweed, greens, seaweed salad and the sweet sesame dressing.

Screen Shot 2017-01-22 at 9.02.44 PM.png

The best dish was the sashimi. I received one piece of toro, two pieces of tuna, two pieces of wild salmon and a piece of ebi. The toro was delicious. The tuna was smooth. The salmon wasn’t stringy like I usually find wild salmon. The ebi was sweet and crunchy. Each piece of seafood was incredibly fresh and beautifully cut. I would come back just for the sashimi offerings.

I learned how Jomar captures such fantastic photos. He stands up and will contort his body and hands to get the best shots. Jomar was like an acrobat. He even used just one finger to press the button so his hand wouldn’t cast a shadow.

I can’t wait until Jomar opens up his vegan bakery. In the meantime, you can order his creations, like his lavender rose cake, vegan chocolate whipped cream, or his matcha cake by contacting him on his website.

 

Goro + Gun Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

