Comfort food · Curry · Japanese

Katsuten

On Saturday, I was still feeling pretty rough from my office Christmas party the previous night. When dinner rolled around I wasn’t in the mood to go out drinking or anywhere loud and fun. I looked haggard and old. We decided to try Katsuten, which took over the old Teaspoon Restaurant spot by Richmond Plaza.

The restaurant is small, so it fills up fast. By the time we left, a large group showed up, filling up half the room.  Katsuten is not a place to bring a hot date. It’s a quiet restaurant,  appealing to those with kids or customers just interested in eating a hot, filling meal.

L ordered an Asahi ($6.50) and I picked green tea to drink ($1.50). Usually when I order tea at Japanese restaurants I’m not impressed. Not so here. The green tea was served hot and strong, in my own teapot.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.29.17 PM.png

L wanted to try the Gyoza ($6.99). The dumplings were deep-fried. I found the pork filling plain. I would pass on this appetizer in the future.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.28.59 PM.png

L and I shared the Katsu Don ($14.99) and the Potato Croquette ($10.99). We each received a bowl of miso soup and one salad. The go to dish at Katsuten is the Katsu Don. Holy moly, this was a wicked rice bowl. I’ve never had anything like this in Calgary before.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.28.29 PM.png

The pork cutlet was thick in width. The golden brown batter was airy and soaked with the most delicious sauce. An egg is cooked with the cutlet along with onions, then topped with green onions.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.28.37 PM.png

The lemon dressing on the cabbage was light and refreshing. The bowl makes the salad look small, but the amount of cabbage Katsuten gives you is enough for two people.

screen-shot-2016-12-04-at-5-28-52-pm

The potato croquette was well-done. The batter was fluffy and light. The potato filling was creamy and soft. The curry gravy came with bits of potato. A filling meal for $10.99.

Screen Shot 2016-12-04 at 5.28.45 PM.png

Katsuten is going to be a regular spot us. L and I were both stuffed after sharing an appy and two mains, which cost us about $40. When we return, we want to try the tenderloin Katsu ($16.50) and the Okonomi-Katsu ($15.90). Though I nitpicked the gyoza, the katsu here is fantastic. Fei Po gives Katsuten two fat thumbs up.

Katsuten Japanese Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

