17th Ave · Bars/Lounges · Burgers · Chain Restaurants · Comfort food · Sandwiches

Mill Street Brewery

I love the new Mill Street Brewery on 17th Ave, located at the old Republic Club spot. L and I were warmly greeted by a hostess and ushered into a quiet corner nook section. I dig the high energy vibe. The clientele looked to be in mostly between 20s-40s range.  The playlist was fun.  I could hear other customers squeal in pleasant surprise as Mase, Michael Jackson and Simon & Garfunkel came up.

Screen Shot 2016-11-28 at 9.01.22 PM.png

We started off with a sampler tray of beer ($11). There’s a huge selection of beers to try. The 5 ounce glasses were numbered on the tray and we were given a sheet that described each one we ordered. My favourite beers were: 100th Meridan; West Coast IPA; Honest Bucker Pale Ale; Twin Tips Double IPA; and Snow Day White IPA. In my humble opinion, I think the beers, atmosphere and food at Mill Street Pub are superior than Trolley Five Restaurant & Brewery, Last Best Brewing & Distillery, and Wildrose Brewery.

Screen Shot 2016-11-28 at 9.01.36 PM.png

L and I were only going to order the House Cut Fries with garlic aioli  ($8) and then head to another destination for dinner. However, the hot crispy fries were good so we decided to stay for dinner. Plus, I was getting a little tipsy from all the drinks.

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-9-01-29-pm

We ordered two dishes: Gouda Cheese Perogies ($13 half order, $19 full order) and Venison Reuben with Fries ($18). L preferred the reuben and my favourite dish was the perogies.

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-9-02-04-pm

The half order consisted of three super sized perogies. The dumplings were soft, doughy (in a good way) and required minimal chewing. The gouda filling was gooey. The spicy garlic sausage was sliced thin and crunchy. The caramelized onions were  sweet and tender. I really liked the addition of the pork belly bits. Mill Street’s perogies were the best I’ve tried anywhere.

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-9-02-12-pm

L enjoyed the Venison Rueben ($18). The venison tasted just like Montreal smoked meat. The sauerkraut and melty oka cheese were a nice addition. The rye bread tasted like it was deep-fried. The side of coleslaw and pickles were fresh.  L said the fries were too salty. I thought the fries were nicely salted. It was the quantity that he ate that was the problem.

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-9-01-43-pm

I really enjoyed dishes I sampled. This is refine pub food. The prices may seem more than other pubs,  but I think the quality and portion size makes it absolutely worth it. Next time I’m in, I want to try the short rib mac and cheese ($23) and the perogies (again).

screen-shot-2016-11-28-at-9-01-50-pm

For two sets of flights, an appy, and two main dishes, our bill came up to about $60 bucks. I think that’s a reasonable amount for all that food, booze and good vibes. Fei Po gives Mill Street Brew Pub two fat thumbs up.

Mill Street Brew Pub Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

