Beer · French · Happy Hour · Seafood · Steakhouse

Brasserie Kensington

My buddy Veronica found out that my husband was away at a week-long conference. She was solo herself on Friday night, so we thought it would be a good opportunity to catch up over dinner. Initially, I tried to get reservations at Pigeonhole and Bocce, but I couldn’t get a table. Then I remembered Brasserie Kensington. If you haven’t been yet, go!

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-2-30-59-pm

Veronica and I ordered a bottle of Kuhlmann-Platz Pinot Gris (France, $45). The description of the wine was “fresh pear and apricot, white flowers and lifted smokiness.” Um….  I couldn’t detect lifted smokiness but I really enjoyed drinking this delicious wine.

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-2-30-42-pm

We shared two dishes: Saffron Cream Mussels ($18.50) and the Alberta Beef Steak ($28). The portions for both dishes were generous. The mussels were small, silky and fresh. Instead of pomme frites we choose a baguette. Next time, I’d stick to the frites. We received crunchy toasted slices of bread. I would have preferred soft pieces of bread that would have absorbed all that nice saffron cream.

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-2-31-19-pm

Our 6oz Alberta Grassfed Beef Steak was gorgeous. Cooked to a medium rare, the steak was ruby red. The foie gras and roasted shallot compound butter was decadent. I used the frites to mopped up all that leftover sauce.

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-2-31-11-pm

Veronica ordered a coffee and she peer pressured me to order a blueberry tea cocktail ($10.99). This was one of the best versions I’ve tried in Calgary. There was a nice fragrance to the tea and the booze wasn’t overly sweet.

screen-shot-2016-11-12-at-2-30-31-pm

I don’t know why Brasserie wasn’t jam-packed on a Friday night. If this place was in Vancouver, there would be a long line-up to get in. The prices are reasonable for the  quality and expertly prepared food. Fei Po gives Brassiere Kensington two fat thumbs up.

 

Brasserie Kensington Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

