Cheap Eats · Chinese · Comfort food · Vancouver/Richmond

Richmond -Tsim Chai Noodles

My family has frequented Tsim Chai Noodles since it opened. My brother Narc likes the fried wonton. You get about eight of these huge, juicy shrimp balls that stay crispy even when we order take-out.  My father Ludvig use to bring back sui kau for my younger brother Jacuzzi and I after he went out with his buddies. I wasn’t surprised with Ludvig`s answer when I asked him where wanted to go for his birthday. Tsim Chai Noodles! Fine with me. Better than his other favourite place, the White Spot.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 5.15.34 PM.png

My aunt Bendy was in town, so she came as well. She ordered shrimp wonton without the noodles. Man, check out these fat shrimp balls! The broth is salty with a very distinctive smell to it.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 5.15.44 PM.png

I ordered Sui Kau with white flat noodles. Sui Kau is a bigger version of wonton with black fungus, mushroom and I think, another beige, crunchy vegetable that reminded me of water chestnuts.

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 5.15.52 PM.png

Ludvig ordered a bowl of sui kai without noodles (you get two more as a result) and a plate of Singapore Fried Rice Noodles. The Singapore noodles were moist with a good amount of yellow curry seasoning. The onions, green onions and sprouts were cooked just so it retained a pleasant crunch. Ludvig picked out all the pork and left it in a tidy pile on his plate. He avoids meat when he can.

This cash only, no frills Chinese pit stop is popular for a reason. If there`s a better place for shrimp wonton and sui kai, let me know. For now, I`ll say this is the best place for wonton in Richmond. Fei Po gives Tsim Chai two fat thumbs up.

Tsim Chai Noodles Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

