Cheap Eats · Chinatown · Chinese

Ho Won – Work Lunch

I told my husband L that I need a pseudonym for my boss when I blog. L advised, “I don’t know honey… Whatever you choose, you should tread lightly”. Originally, I was thinking of naming my boss ‘Mozza’ or ‘Angel’, because he’s obsessed with the mozza mushroom burger at Angel’s Drive In. However, after L’s heeding, I decided that from here on in I will refer to my boss as Tread Lightly.

Tread Lightly announced he was taking his team out for a lunch meeting. My co-worker Rascal said that since Tread Lightly was treating, he wanted steak or lobster. Tread Lightly retorted, “No. We’re going for Chinese. I want to go the squid and dumpling place that Hitting the Sauce picked the last time.” He was referring to Ho Won.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 4.49.13 PM

At the restaurant, I ordered Salt and Pepper Squid, Ginger Chicken, Singapore Noodles, Pea Tips and Pork Dumplings. I requested the dumplings to be steamed rather than fried, as we would be having enough oily delights throughout our meal. Rascal said he wanted it fried. I told him Office Dad prefers the dumpling steamed, as it’s not as greasy. Rascal retorted, “Yeah, while I’m not Office Dad.” I ignored him and ordered what I wanted. I’m learning a lot from Tread Lightly. The large dumplings were fat and bursting with pork, ginger and cabbage.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 4.49.07 PM

The best thing to order at Ho Won is the salt and pepper squid. The batter is mouth-watering, well-seasoned with salt, pepper and hot chili flakes. Rascal thought the squid was too long in size. I disagreed with him but I lacked the energy to tell him that not everything should be shaped like a chicken nugget.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 4.48.53 PM

Before I left for lunch, I asked Office Dad to write in Chinese “pea tips in garlic sauce” so the server would know what I wanted for our vegetable dish. He obliged and wrote out the Chinese characters. It turns out he forgot a character so the piece of paper read “peas”. In any case, the snow peas were sweet and crisp, covered in a garlic sauce. Tread Lightly said we should give Office Dad the bill as he screwed up on the ordering. When we got back to the office, Tread Lightly tried to find Office Dad to give him the bill. Lucky for Office Dad, he had already left for a meeting.

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 4.27.56 PM

Next up was the Singapore Noodles. The noodles were spicy and clearly fresh off the wok. I liked the generous coating of curry. Flecked with green peppers, egg, sweet onions, chai su and shrimp, this dish was very tasty.

Screen Shot 2016-07-27 at 4.49.01 PM

Rascal didn’t comment about the Ginger Chicken, but I noticed that he ate most of it. Tread Lightly prefers ginger chicken over ginger beef. I prefer the ginger beef, but the chicken was good. Though heavily battered, there was a decent amount of meat. The ginger sauce was syrupy and reminded me of honey, but lacked a garlicky bite to it.

There’s a bigwig that is leaving our company soon. Ho Won was his weekly lunch spot on Fridays. Office Dad and I plan to take him to Ho Won to celebrate his retirement. This time around, I hope to get my order of pea tips.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Ho Won Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

