Fusion · Happy Hour · Vietnamese

Pure Contemporary Vietnamese Kitchen + Bar

Buzzy left our office to take another job. At her going away party, her boss Meeting said that while Buzzy says now that she’ll miss us, once she sees her first pay check, we’ll all be forgotten. Well, Buzzy got paid on Thursday and met us for lunch that day. His ominious premonition proved false.

Getting my co-workers to a destination, no matter how close, is an ordeal. Meetz and Little Red are like me, they walk fast and don’t get distracted. However, Buzzy, Crazy Girl, Randy,  Mindi and Queen Bee would stagger back and get lost around a corner or distracted by a fly. I resorted to playing tour guide to get our group to the restaurant in time. I did a head count out loud before we left the train. To keep the group herded together, I waved them along and pointed to “landmarks” to keep their attention. It was a bit like what I imagine it would be like to work on The City of Calgary’s new goat pilot.

sheep

After what felt like eternity, we arrived on time (after I had bumped our reservations 15 minutes later as I could tell hear them dawdling in the hallway). We landed a semi private room, which was a positive as we are a loud, happy bunch. One thing you need to know about Pure Contemporary Vietnamese is that it was a former club and the changing techno coloured lights remain. You can see the rainbow of colours reflected in our food.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.30 PM.png

Randy and Buzzy shared  a Char Sui Sesame Donut ($5). Our server Dani kindly asked the kitchen to cut it in half. They both raved about the saucy pork stuffing and the crispy sesame shell.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.00 PM

A bunch of us ordered the Sate Pho ($11.75). The bowl was bigger than my head! The broth was spicy and rich. There was a ton of bouncy, perfectly cooked noodles and tender slices of beef. This pho is worth the drive from my house in Killarney. I ordered my pho without cilantro and instead, used up everyone else’s basil for my soup.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.55 PM.png

Mindi ordered the Chicken and Spring Roll ($12.75). The picture below is awful and doesn’t do the dish justice. I was hungry and I didn’t feel like putting in the effort to take a better photo. Sorry.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.07 PM

The pho is ridiculously delicious. The spiciness made me cough and choke and cry at times, but that’s cuz it went down the wrong pipe. Good thing I wasn’t on a date. It would likely be the last.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.24 PM.png

Crazy Girl sat next to me and let me try her lemon grass vermicelli beef ($12.75). There was an ample amount of beef and onions. The noodles and all the vegetables were very tasty and fresh. A good option for those with a lighter appetite.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.19 PM

Queen B ordered Chicken Wings ($8.75), which were huge, meaty and crunchy. She loved the seasoning and sauce, which she said was a nice change from the usual pub wings. Everyone at our table was jealous and wished they had ordered wings as well.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.23.13 PM

Crazy Girl and Mindi have a birthday coming up. I’m going to book our lunch at Pure Contemporary Vietnamese. Pure can handle large groups and our server Dani was so patient with our table. She was even cool with us splitting the cheques, which I know is a pain in the fanny. I’m also going to bring my office family down here on Tuesday too, after our annual Stampede event on the grounds for happy hour. If you haven’t already, check this gem out.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Pure Contemporary Vietnamese Kitchen + Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 thoughts on “Pure Contemporary Vietnamese Kitchen + Bar

Leave a Reply

