Japanese · Seafood

Red Ember – Lunch

I’ve been on a Red Ember rampage. This time around, I convinced my office family to join me for lunch. There is a long list of lunch specials, around the $15.00 mark. Be warned – the portions are large.

Asian Persuasion enjoyed the strong green tea,  which only cost a dollar per person. Our server constantly refilled our big teapot throughout lunch.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.16 PM

At my recommendation, Office Dad ordered the chirashi ($16.99). We received the usual pieces of salmon, tuna, snapper, scallop, octopus, clam and the highlight – seared salmon belly. Office Dad enjoyed the thick slices of fish. He prefers the tuna and salmon at Zipang over Red Ember. However, Office Dad said that without a doubt, Red Ember wins in the value department. While I also favour Zipang’s white tuna and salmon, their scallop is sometimes fishy, unlike Red Ember, which come large, luscious and sweet. Plus, the prices at Red Ember are wallet-friendly. I tried to trade a piece of my salmon for Office Dad’s scallop, but he declined my offer. Dammit. The scallop was the size of a big old fat west coast oyster. The salmon belly was superb.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.44 PM

Asian Persuasion ordered the tempura and sashimi combo ($15.50). She thought the sushi rice and tempura were particularly good. Though she enjoyed everything, she couldn’t finish everything on plate. Office Dad ate her surf clam and a piece of What’s Up Hamsup’s dynamite roll.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.37 PM

What’s Up Hamsup ordered the teriyaki chicken and sushi combo. He really liked the salad dressing. He saved the salmon nigiri sushi for last because he says he wants it to be the last thing he tastes. I totally know what he means, that’s why I save the skin off my fried chicken to eat at the very end. The dynamite roll was well-made. The shrimp tempura was freshly made, the layer of rice well-formed.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.26 PM

When What’s Up Hamsup heard that I prefer my sashimi cool rather than at room temperature. He said that in Japan, because the sashimi is so fresh, it’s served at room temperature as it allows the flavours to come through. Serving raw fish at cooler temperature masks less than fresh fish. Point taken, but here in landlocked Calgary, I don’t mind tricks to make raw fish taste better. I don’t know how “fresh” one can get it here, as I heard fish is frozen and then shipped to Cowtown (not sure if this is true or not). I guess when I go to Japan, I’ll see for myself.

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 8.22.32 PM

We returned to work full and giddy. In one of the elevators, and in front of other employees, Office Dad exclaimed he was going to fart. We badgered him and then entered the final set of stairs to our office. Office Dad opened the door and turned to me and said, “You know I was joking right? I wasn’t really going to fart.” When I walked through the door, right behind Office Dad,  I smelled sulphur. I covered my mouth and pushed my way back out the door, shouting “Gross! (Insert Office Dad’s real name _____) farted! Disgusting!” The odour was so strong, the rest of the family stumbled out into the hallway. Office Dad’s face turned bright red and he said,”It wasn’t me. It’s rank in there but it wasn’t me.” Sure Office Dad, sure.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Red Ember Japanese Cuisine Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

