17th Ave · Brunch · Happy Hour · Pizza · Seafood

Full Circle – Twitter Night

I spent Saturday preparing for my friend’s visit. Picking up groceries, cleaning the house, chilling the champagne, etc. I was planning on making dinner that night but I was too tired to cook. I checked my Twitter account and saw that Full Circle was offering a promotion.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 8.21.26 AM

At 50% off all food items, the meal was practically free. How could I resist? I told L I was treating him for dinner at Full Circle. Whenever I want to go out for dinner and I can tell he’s not in the mood, I always offer to treat.

L asked if I could call this blog post “Redemption Dinner”, as he pissed me off the last time we were there (another dinner I paid for). I said no, how can he redeem himself when I’m paying the bill?  He’s still in the dog house. Woof!

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.08 PM

Full Circle was half full when we arrived at 7:00 p.m. By 9:00 p.m, the restaurant was packed. L started off with a pint of Blue Buck beer ($7) and I ordered a flute of prosecco ($8). One of the owners, Joshua, presented us with a complimentary smoked oyster. I enjoyed the sensory experience of eating a smoked oyster. Smoke billowed up when we lifted the glass, which smelled a bit like scotch to me. The oyster was salty, still chilled and flavoured by the smoke. We asked Joshua how he got the smoke inside the glass. The process is a labour of love, involving a cedar plank.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.01 PM.png

Since it was 50% off the entire menu, I wanted to try all new dishes. I picked the Braised Octopus ($7.00). L and I both went nuts over this dish. He said he could eat this everyday. The octopus was served chilled and the texture was clean and firm. Dressed in olive oil and green onions, the freshness of the octopus shone through. Not in the least bit fishy.  The owners bring in fresh octopus as opposed to the frozen stuff. You can tell the difference. L enjoyed the bread, which he thought was a delicious combination with the octopus.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.14 PM

Next up was a half-dozen oysters, three Raspberry Point ($3.25, New London Bay, PEI) and three  Evening Cove ($3.00, Fanny Bay BC). The west coast oysters had this creaminess that I adore. I really liked the cucumber mignonette, as it was refreshing and something I never tried before.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.21 PM

Next up was the Sicilian Lifeguard Style Calamari ($16). Below is a half portion, as we were given individual bowls as it was easier to share. The squid was tender and not in the least chewy. The broth was light but with nice spiciness and intense from the taste of the black olives, whole garlic cloves and fennel. I find seafood very difficult to cook at home, unlike Full Circle, who has mastered the art of cooking seafood.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.35 PM

I ordered the Clover Club cocktail- which is comprised of vodka, raspberries and egg white ($13). L took one look at the glass and shook his head, “Hon, there’s a lot of booze in that drink.” I took a tentative sip. The raspberry tasted fresher than the fruit I buy from Coop. The liquid was sweet and I couldn’t detect the vodka. Five more sips and the alcohol hit me. I remember when I was a teenager and my brother Narc found a bottle of Silent Sam vodka in my dirty laundry basket (who looks in there?). He paraded the bottle in front of my parents in the living room and lectured, “It’s called Silent Sam for a reason. That stuff can kill you.” I giggled and thought how even back then, he was so self-righteous.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.28 PM.png

The last dish of the night was a homemade Carrot Ravioli ($15). The pasta itself was delicate. The addition of roasted pine nuts, slices of bacon, peas, and a balsamic reduction went well with the subtle carrot filling. Incredibly tasty. I’m going to have to return and try every single pasta on that menu.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 9.13.42 PM

L believes the owners could have easily opened up a pretentious restaurant with corresponding prices. The food at Full Circle is cooked exquisitely but it’s presented in a laid-back environment with prices you’d find at a pub. With its killer cocktails (it’s called killer for a reason!), this is one place on 17th Ave you must try.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Full Circle Pizza and Oyster Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

