17th Ave · Beer · Pizza · Seafood

Full Circle Pizza – An Angry Date Night

My mother was in town for the weekend. For breakfasts I made homemade scones, for lunches I steamed up dim sum from Chuen May, and for dinner we served up BBQ steaks and ribs. By Monday when my mother left, I thought L and I deserved a meal out. Our favourite place for cocktails, seafood and pizza is Full Circle Pizza.

Though it was 8:00 PM, the restaurant was packed. Seniors flagged the front while a randy crowd (where we were seated) were in the back. I ordered a Tequila Old Fashioned cocktail. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, because it is worth repeating. Full Circle Pizza makes the strongest cocktails I have ever had the privilege of drinking. Made with Milagro anejo, reposado tequila and lime, this was knock you off your seat good. L stuck to a refreshing glass of Grizzly Paw beer.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.30.40 PM
For appetizers, we ordered the Beef and Oyster Tartare and a Half Dozen Deep Fried Oysters. The oyster was large, creamy and salty. The beef tartare was Full Circle’s usual standard (which is perfection). The fried oysters? Superior to Rodney’s Oyster House in Vancouver. What made Full Circle’s version better? The oysters were plump and cooked just so – similar to poached eggs. The seasoning on the perfectly battered buttery morsels had a nice spice, a bit like KFC’s special blend. That sauce under each oyster served on a shell? Crack in cream form. Also, the presentation was lovely.
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.30.26 PM
Around this time, L received a phone call from someone who is working for him. L said, “Sorry hon, I got to take this”. For the next 18:33 minutes, I sat quietly fuming while he chatted. Let me tell you that this conversation was not so important that he could have either wrapped it up in five minutes or called him back. For entertainment, I eavesdropped to my neighbours. The group of girls next to me were boring, so I turned my attention to the guys on my right.
Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.30.16 PM
Dude 1: (has a girlfriend) “Man, she was beautiful and didn’t speak a word of English. She was at this resort while I was there for a wedding, and yeah, I had a girlfriend at home, but you have to understand that people outside the UK do this all the time, it’s just F**** sexual and we can’t do anything about it.”
Dude 2: (has a wife and cheated on her) “I know, at this last wedding, I met this girl and she was so hot. She didn’t even know she was hot. She spoke like no English. My wife would kill me if she knew”.
Dude 3: (very quiet, just laughed a lot) “Ha ha, no way.”
Dude 1: She was wearing this yellow dress. And I wanted to take her on a date, you know, like a romantic one. But we couldn’t say much as she didn’t speak English”.
That's L talking on his phone.
That’s L talking on his phone.

The moral of the story is never to let your husband go to a wedding alone and don’t marry a douche bag. There was a pillar between the wedding cheaters and our table. When they got up to go, I tried to not blatantly stare at them. They were short and ordinary looking. No horns on their heads or tails trailing after them.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.30.33 PM

When my husband finally got off the phone, I snapped at him, “Not cool!”. Then I ordered a glass of Riparosso, Illuminati wine that was smooth and lovely. Then I drank another cocktail and all was forgiven.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.29.45 PM

We ordered two pizzas, the Beef Carpaccio Pi and the Flaming Moe. Both were tasty but so different from each other. That’s one of many things I love about Full Circle. The combination of ingredients on each pie are unique and it works. You know how at some pizza places, you order different pizzas but they all taste the same? Not here.

The beef carpaccio tore apart easily, not pulling like a stringy piece of cheese. I liked the little dash of grainy mustard and the sweetness from the aged balsamic. The crust was crispy, baked just so there was a pleasant chomping sound when you bit into a slice. The mustard greens were fresh.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.30.05 PM

The Flaming Moe had a nice kick to it from the spicy peppers,  calabrese salami, and siracha. While the other pizza had more subtle, the Flaming Moe is great if you like some heat.

Screen Shot 2016-06-23 at 8.29.54 PM

This week, my best friend The Yen is coming with her fiancé  to Calgary. We’re going to BBQ one night and take them out to Full Circle for their last night here. I know they are going to just love the pizzas, pastas, appetizers, wine and those deadly delicious cocktails.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Full Circle Pizza and Oyster Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Full Circle Pizza – An Angry Date Night

Leave a Reply

