Japanese · Seafood

Date Night at Red Ember

Lately, I haven’t been in the mood to blog. However, my Sunday date night at Red Ember jolted me out of a slump. I think Christina, a long-time fixture at Red Ember is one of the best servers in the city. She is polite, attentive and she has this ability to make dining at her restaurant such a pleasant experience.

Though it has been two years since I last visited, Christina recognized us and remembered how I love deep-fried shrimp heads while my husband avoids watching me munch away on the antennas. Service from Christina is like being pampered at the spa. Let me tell you that after a long week at work, it feels incredible. I think having a great meal with even better service is a respite from reality.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 6.34.06 PM.png

On an early Sunday evening, the restaurant wasn’t super packed. The mood is serene and relaxing, with old school jazz playing oh so soothingly in the background. Christina brought out a special complimentary bite for us to eat. Smokey tuna in ponzu sauce and a piece of butterfish that was deliciously seared.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 6.33.59 PM.png

Our main dishes of chirashi ($16.99) and chef select nigiri ($19.99) was fantastic. Christina told us she asked the chef to make ensure the food was extra good, as the owner/chef Calvin was away that night. Aw, we missed you too!

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 6.34.13 PM.png

My selection of nigiri included saba, raw shrimp, deep-fried shrimp head, salmon, tuna, scallop, butterfish, octopus and red crab. My new favourite item at Red Ember is butterfish. Oh my. Butterfish is silky like a scallop but with a rich oil aftertaste. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. The raw shrimp was sweet and deep-fried shrimp head reminded me of soft shell crab.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 6.34.26 PM.png

L’s chirashi came with a huge piece of butterfish. The octopus was thickly sliced and crunchy. The scallop was large, fresh tasting and not at all fishy. The salmon was buttery and flavourful. The portions were generous in both dishes. We were both full for hours after our dinner.

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 6.34.19 PM.png

With a big pot of tea ($1.25), our the bill for two was under $40.00. While I really enjoyed the select nigiri, I want to try the chirashi next. Thank you Christina, for the extra TLC. The food was delicious and we plan to make Red Ember a regular spot to dine.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Red Ember Japanese Cuisine Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

