Beer · Burgers · Seafood

Bookers BBQ and Crab Shack

Dr. B just returned from one of his epic trips. We usually get together two to three times a year.  As I know he has a penchant for pubs, I picked Bookers BBQ and Crab Shack for lunch. Booker’s has street parking for Dr. B and it’s close to my workplace.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 7.13.39 AM

The interior of the restaurant is pretty cool. The building is old, the room is dark with super high ceilings. I could smell the smoke coming from the kitchen, and it lingered on my hair hours after lunch. Ah, I bet my fellow yogees just loved standing next to me that evening, inhaling my BBQ infused sweat. Yummy.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 7.13.32 AM

Dr. B is a light and healthy eater, so I did the ordering. I didn’t want to be stuck eating a salad. We shared a Beef Brisket Sandwich ($12.95) and a plate of the Brisket Burnt Ends ($10.95). The beef brisket was covered in a  Kansas City BBQ sauce. I found the sauce delightful.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 7.13.24 AM

I would recommend the brisket sandwich. The smooth, clean texture of the bun went really well with the thick, juicy slices of beef. The crispy onions were a nice textural touch. I also liked the deep-fried pickle that came on top of the bun.

Screen Shot 2016-04-16 at 7.13.15 AM

The beef tips were another winner. Dr. B noted that this dish was not the type thing you would make at home. The square-like meat was pillowy soft. Dr. B said some pieces were too fatty for him, but that’s what I think made it taste so good. If you prefer lean cuts of meat, don’t order the brisket sandwich or the beef tips. I know this comment is going to gross my vegetarian friend Jaime out… but it must be said. I love the taste of hot squishy fat as it squirts on your tongue.

The cornbread was a good portion, crumbly and sweet. The jalapeño macaroni and cheese came bubbling away in a hot pan. I didn’t find it spicy and it was light despite the cheese sauce. I liked the oven baked crumbs on the top of the perfectly al dente noodles. While a lot of reviewers on Zomato love the sides at Bookers, I prefer the meat. The meat here trumps all.

I want to book an event with my coworkers at Bookers. The venue is neat and different from the usual places on Stephen Avenue. I can’t compare the food to Palomino, our usual hangout, because the food at Bookers, though also BBQ, is different.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Bookers BBQ Grill & Crab Shack Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

