Brunch

Monki Breakfast Club and Bistro

One of Jaime’s favourite brunch spots is Monki. She raves about the the prosecco hollandaise sauce on the eggs benny. Last Sunday, I arrived at Monki at 12:45 pm. I was told our table would be ready by 2:00 pm. Jaime and I shopped around to kill time. At 2:00 pm we checked our status at Monki. Turned out someone tried to call me but I didn’t see it on my phone, nor heard it ring. I blame my brothers for their constant texting about Walking Dead. Our table was long gone, but Jaime sweetly asked if it was still possible to get a table. Lucky for us, we only had to wait another ten minutes.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.09.32 PM.png

Monki is a tiny restaurant. I remember when it was Petite, one of the first nice restaurants I experienced in Calgary when my husband and I were dating. The vibe is funky and eclectic. I enjoyed the music, boisterous tunes ranging from 60’s to 80’s.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.09.43 PM.png

Our server was friendly and despite how busy it was, he was around to refill my coffee and our water. The action in the open kitchen was awesome. We could see flames flaring up from our table.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.10.12 PM.png

I ordered Fratello coffee ($3.00) while Jaime opted for a decaf cappuccino ($4.50). I liked that the coffee was piping hot. For food, Jaime ordered a vegetarian benny while I took my server’s recommendation to try the Spanish Chorizo Benny.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.09.24 PM.png

I enjoyed popping my yolks and watching the bright dark orange liquid flow over the egg whites. Jaime said she could taste the prosecco and some orange zest in the hollandaise sauce. My tastes are not so refine. I just tasted deliciousness.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.10.18 PM.png

I liked the texture of the ground up chorizo, soft and mealy. The caramelized onions and goat cheese complimented the spicy heat of the sausage. The potatoes crispy, chunky, and well seasoned. I thought the spices tasted a bit like what you get in ketchup chips, sweet and tangy.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.10.26 PM.png

The side of fruits is worth eating. I normally pass on fruit cups, but at Monki, we were treated to blood oranges, grapes, mandarin oranges, melon and pineapple. I found out from our server that they buy all the fruit from the Farmer’s Market.

Screen Shot 2016-04-05 at 8.10.04 PM.png

For dessert, we received fortune cookies. I received two while Jaime got a lame fortune. Jaime’s fortune isn’t worth a picture, but I’ll tell you what it said, “The best way to get rid of an enemy is to make him a friend.” Now that’s a bad fortune. Like hell I’d make an enemy a friend. Life’s to short to surround yourself with frenemies. Jaime just needs to hang around me more often and avoid sh%!#y advice.

Jaime likes Monki more than Parc because she says the food is more flavourful and unique. Prices are very reasonable considering the quality. I want to go back to try the Frittata and panini. Thanks Jaime for recommending this popular brunch hot spot.

View my food journey on Zomato!

MONKI Breakfast Club & Bistro Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

