17th Ave · Pizza · Seafood

Full Circle Pizza and Oyster Bar

Jaime and her husband Kamloops took L and me out for dinner. We started off with a round of cocktails: Paper Plane, Corpse Reviver, Dark and Stormy, and the Lisbon Flower. I love them all, but my favourite is the Paper Plane. Made of bourbon, Aperol, and Amaro, I found the floral, lemony and herby notes refreshing.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.22.27 AM

Full Circle is one of the few restaurants I’ll order a cocktail. My husband thinks I’m nuts but I tell you that most places water down the drinks or don’t put a full shot in a drink. Superman can fly. The Hulk has super strength. My super power? I can detect alcohol level in any drink. I had two cocktails and I tapped out for the night.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.23.00 AM.png

Jaime also ordered a bottle of the house wine ($32). We all thought the house wine was fantastic for the price. We learned that the owners get all their wine from across the street, Wine Ink.

tartar

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.22.45 AM.png

Kamloops went wild for the Oyster and Beef Tartare ($15.00). Man, the beef was so flavourful and punched up with the homemade aioli and parmesan crisps. The fresh oyster was a nice touch. I would have never thought that raw beef and oysters pair so well together.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.22.52 AM.png

Jaime was shocked to see at the large portion of fried fior. The cheese was melty and warm, a perfect contrast to the light, well-seasoned crunch of the batter. Jaime omitted the bacon, but with all the arugula and fresh tomatoes, we didn’t miss the meat.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.23.18 AM.png

Jaime ordered the Guy Pi without the ham. The pizza smelled so good. With all the mushrooms, this pizza was hearty and rich. I’m glad that Jaime asked for hot pepper flakes, as I think most earthy pizzas taste better with a little heat. We also received Full Circle’s homemade jalapeño oil, of which I made good use.

trout pizza.jpg

 

I ordered the California Pi, which is made with smoked trout, roe and chives. The mascarpone cheese was light and almost like non sweet whipping cream.  This is one of my favourite pizzas to date. Both pies exhibited a good crunch, which I find so satisfying in a pizza.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.23.41 AM

I ordered tripled cooked fries. I should have waited a bit longer before ordering, because when the fries arrived, I was too full. That didn’t stop me from eating most of the fries. Scrumptious.

Screen Shot 2016-03-26 at 8.26.38 AM.png

On another occasion, I ordered the Ricotta Gnocchi. The gnocchi was smooth, covered in a silky smooth sauce of creme fraiche. Initially, I thought the combination of brussels sprout and pasta was odd, however, I thought it went really well with the mushrooms and cream sauce. Full Circle is really good at combining unusual ingredients together and making it work.

Kamloops thought Full Circle was unbelievable and he appreciated all the distinct flavours in the dishes. In the five times I visited, I’ve always experienced excellent service from different servers. I’m such a fan of this place I’m going to put Full Circle Pizza on my list of favourite restaurants in Calgary.

If you’re an oyster lover, you need to check this place out. The last two hours before closing, oysters go for a mere dollar. Super fresh and with a thoughtful, varied selection, even at full price, these oysters are worth ordering.

 

View my food journey on Zomato!

Full Circle Pizza and Oyster Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 thoughts on “Full Circle Pizza and Oyster Bar

Leave a Reply

