Chinatown · Chinese · Comfort food

Vic’s HK Style BBQ & Cafe

Office Daddy always wants to go to Vic’s. He knows the owner, the manager and servers. I like going to Vic’s too, but only if he is with me as the food tastes better when he orders. He will tweak the dish and ask for it to be prepared a certain way or substituted a meat with something else. I wish that I had panned out in Chinese school. I’m really missing out now.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 8.31.07 PM

I always drink the complimenary Chinese broth. There’s always some beef and bones, Chinese herbs, and a carrot or potato. Though its saltier than my paw paw use to make, I still feel healthy when I drink it. My mother and paw paw would always tell us when we were kids that if we drank it, it would improve our skin or make us beautiful or some other random lie.

shrimp

Office Daddy ordered shrimp ho fan noodles ($10.99) .  I know, this dish isn’t a looker. However, it tastes a lot better than it looks. I love these noodles because of the wok smell and subsequent taste of the noodles due to the cooking technique. I noticed some of the shrimp wasn’t properly deveined but Office Daddy didn’t care. He said if it bothered me I could remove it myself.

eggplant

The best dish was the eggplant ($10.99) with pork. Office Daddy wished the pork was bigger and not tiny ground up pieces. I agree with him, but  I loved the sweetness of the eggplant and the taste of the wok in the sauce. The eggplant was soft but still retained some texture without being mushy. The peppers were sliced thin and still crunchy. This dish is a real winner in my books. I also liked the rice, which was on the drier side.

The cafe is busy at lunch and for good reason. Portions are large and the prices are reasonable. Food comes quickly, so if you’re in a rush for lunch, you’ll be in and out within half an hour.

Vic's Hong Kong Style BBQ & Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

