Cheap Eats · Chinatown · Chinese

Lucky Place

My Chinese-speaking friends at work and I always default to Lucky Place. I’ve been at least a dozen times since my last posting. Below is an accumulation of food I’ve ordered. “Lucky” for me I take notes so that I don’t forget what I like about each dish.

bean curd

I took my old prof here once for lunch. I wasn’t sure he would like the Beef with Rice Roll ($6.99) as it’s not a typical dish he would order or even see on a menu. The beef was tender and the bean curd was pleasantly soft. The gravy like sauce is a little too mild tasting for me, so I like to add some hot chilli oil to give it some heat. He enjoyed it.

sweet and sour

My buddy GR and AC wanted to try the Palace Style Chicken ($11.99). The batter was light but could have been crispier. The sweet and sour sauce was light and thin. I like the finely chopped up pieces of celery, carrots and bell peppers. All the vegetables retained a good crunch.

congee

No matter who I go with, we always order a bowl of congee. Doesn’t matter if we order mixed-meats, fish, chicken or beef, the congee itself is served hot, the consistency thick and fluffier than U & Me or Vic’s in Chinatown.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 8.53.46 PM

My friend Ms. Biz likes this dish –  beef liver with green beans. She says the chefs at Lucky know how to “chi wok”, which I think loosely means cooking in a high heat to achieve that soft yet chewy texture. This was my first time trying beef liver and while I enjoyed the richness and the tenderness of the texture, I could only eat a few pieces. The beans were crunchy and sweet. This isn’t on the regular menu.

noodle lucky

When I go with Office Daddy, he orders either the Special Fried Rice or Ho Fan noodles with white gravy. I never get tired of eating these saucy noodles. To me, this is ultimate comfort food. Again, this is a special order. You need to speak the Cantonese to order the noodles with white gravy.

lucky riceOffice Daddy likes to order Fried Rice here. The rice is lightly fried and fluffy, mixed with fine pieces of egg, meats, and vegetables.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 8.34.49 PM.png

One of my favourite dishes is the Thai style noodles. The noodles are not super saucy but huge on flavour. I particularly enjoy the fried tips of gai pan and the wok fragrance. Addicting, I dare you just to eat a bowl.

Screen Shot 2016-03-03 at 8.34.59 PM

Another dish that won me over is the rice cakes. Not exactly going to win a modelling contract for its looks, this dish is big on flavour. Again, the taste comes from the wok, smokey and mouth watering.

Screen Shot 2016-03-05 at 3.27.03 PM.png

Another dish I always order is the bitter melon with spareribs and rice rolls. The bitter melon is cooked so that its tender but still firm. I like the flavour of the gravy sauce more than the beef version.

One thing to note if you aren’t Asian and familiar with certain mannerisms. Don’t take offence if the server seems to be in a bad mood or even angry at you (she isn’t).  It’s not personal. Plus, the food is delicious and cheap, so who cares.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Lucky Place Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

