Fusion

Oohmani Pares House & Noodle Bar – It’s like that

My neighbours Clinton and Alicia asked us if we wanted to check out Oohmani, a relatively new restaurant in our hood. When I walked inside the restaurant, the chefs and the owner waved me in like an old friend. I asked my husband if he received the same warm welcome when he arrived. Yep, L and my neighbours all experienced Oohmani’s hospitality.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.01.56 AM.png

I think the owners are from my generation. All night, we were treated to the beats of Mariah Carey. If you’re reading this post and want to be transported to my night at Oohmani, click here and read along to her song.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.02.06 AM

We ordered a round of San Miguel Lager ($6.5) and Red Horse ($7.00). The lager was sweet and easy to drink. I also tried the Red Horse, which was stronger and higher in alcohol percentage.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.00.59 AM

Alicia ordered a plate of Sisig Nachos ($10.00). Damn, these were delicious. The nachos were fresh, covered with the meat of pig ears, snout and cheek. I found out from the owner Sonny that they boil these “choice” pieces down, fry it, then crisp it up. Green onions, tomato salsa and sour cream added a lighter dimension to the meats and chips. The addition of red onions elevated the whole dish. The egg gave it some creaminess. Best nachos in the city.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.01.18 AM.png

I ordered High River Wagyu Brisket ($16). The broth started off light but at the end, it became rich and flavourful. I could taste a lot of roasted garlic in the soup. Sonny told us the soup is cooked for two days, without any MSG. I prefer this noodle soup over any bowl of noodles in the city. The homemade noodles were toothsome and a generous amount. The beef was tender and a healthy portion. The only thing I didn’t care for was the overcooked texture of the cabbage. The egg was soft and creamy. I was stuffed after slurping down all the noodles, meat and broth.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.01.29 AM.png

Okay, if you’re a slow reader, it’s time to hear another Mariah song while I talk about L’s entree, the Tipsy Tapsi Ale Marinated Alberta Rib-Eye ($16). I only took a bite as I was so full. The steak was delicious, nicely marbled, and with that charbroil taste. However, if you’re a big eater, you would need an appetizer in order to get full.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 6.09.02 PM.png

I tried two desserts. The one I really enjoyed was the Warm Coconut Pandan Pudding ($14). Served in a whole coconut, the cream was so delicious, like panacotta. I would order this again.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 6.09.12 PM

L ordered the 3 Cheese Bibingko Cheddar Ice-Cream ($8.00). The cake part of the dessert tasted a bit like Kraft cheese. The ice-cream was thick, creamy and sweet. The ice-cream was to my liking, but the other thing was personally not my thing.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.00.52 AM.png

I like what the owners did to the space, it’s cozy and a place I can chill out and enjoy myself. Move over Newcastle, this place is happening and I dig the good vibes, the music and the food is bitching. Keep the food and service up, and Oohmami will always be my baby.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Oohmami Pares House & Noodle Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

