Beer · Burgers · Cheap Eats · Pubs

Moose McGuire’s – Wing Night

Based on the Zomato reviews, it looks like students are pickier than I am when it comes to pubs. I have always like Moose McGuire’s when I was a student and lived nearby. In particular, I liked the wings and burgers, which I think are better than the nearby pubs (Kilkenny Irish Pub, The Den, Last Defence, and Jamesons). After a late work meeting last week, I was able to rekindle my love for Moose McGuire’s.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.02.27 AM

L and I happen to visit during wing night. Kudos to our young server Ashley W. I’m not usually impressed with service at a pub because often the environment is chaotic and it hard to get anyone’s attention. However, Ashley was personable, helpful and did things she didn’t have to, like split our burger when she found out we were sharing and ensuring we sure we had enough napkins for the wings.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.02.33 AM

For 35 cents each, these wings are awesome. We ordered wings with hot sauce. L thought he could taste a little cumin in the sauce. The wings were meaty, crispy and tangy with a spicy heat. I would have just eaten a basket on my own and been full.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.02.41 AM

The cheese and bacon burger tasted like a Whopper from Burger King. That’s a compliment not an insult. The bun was different and didn’t taste like a generic type you get from a bag at Safeway. The bacon was crunchy, the lettuce and tomato cold and refreshing against the juicy beef patty. The fries are nothing to get excited about, but it was served hot and crispy and I didn’t get the tiny,  brown crispy pieces that remind me of the leftover stuff in a fryer.

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 8.02.47 AM

L and I left full and pleased with our bill. We both agreed that we need to start dropping by more often for wing night. When we do, I doubt we’ll venture past our standard order of a burger and wings.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Moose McGuire's Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

