Cheap Eats · Chinese · Vancouver/Richmond

Alleluia Cafe

Man, I’ve been living in Calgary for too long. One thing Calgary lacks are plentiful, good Chinese restaurants. The few restaurants that do serve up well-prepared Chinese food (average by Vancouver standards) are constantly busy and usually pricey. I know if Alleluia Cafe was in Calgary and serving the same food and charging the same prices, there would be a long line-up outside the restaurant all the time, even in -25 weather.

Screen Shot 2016-02-18 at 9.07.30 PM.png

I was still full from lunch, but my aunt and uncle wanted to catch up with me. I thought we were going for coffee, but my uncle wanted to have coffee and something to eat. He picked Alleluia Cafe because it was close by and he likes the food.

We shared two dishes – Singapore Noodles ($10.00) and Beef Chow Fun ($10.00). My aunt and uncle looked at me pityingly as I raved about the noodles and exclaimed how good the food was at Alleluia.  My aunt looked at me with her kind eyes and said, “I guess Calgary doesn’t have many Chinese restaurants?”. Calgary does have Chinese restaurants, but the average place is sloppy and not as deftly cooked as Vancouver.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 9.04.54 AM.png

The beef chow fun we tried had that delicious wok taste. Heaven. The noodles weren’t clumpy or too greasy. The sprouts were cooked properly, not under or over cooked. The noodles were properly sauce and the beef was tender.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 9.05.03 AM

The Singapore noodles were bouncy and smooth, with the right proportion of seasoning and spice. The noodles were generously intermingled with minced up pork, shrimp, crunchy peppers and onions.

Don’t feel too sorry for me. I’ve gone down four sizes since I left Vancouver. I eat all the steak I want and the food scene in Calgary has improved drastically since 2009. Gotta think positive, that’s the Calgarian way.

 

View my food journey on Zomato!

Alleluia Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

