Cheap Eats · Chinatown · Chinese

Auntie’s Chinese Burger

I love eating out with my Chinese speaking friends. Being fluent in the language makes such a difference when it comes to ordering the right food. I wish I tried harder in Chinese school. Unfortunately, I don’t have an ear for catching the different tones and enunciation. The penalty? A lifetime dependency on Office Daddy and every other Cantonese or Mandarin speaker.

Office Daddy and I always walk past Auntie’s Chinese Burger on our way to Chong Fat, Ho Won and Great Taste. We were curious but it wasn’t until I saw a customer digging into a big bowl of homemade noodles that my interest was piqued. Office Daddy agreed that the noodles looked good and finally relented.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 6.57.59 PM.png

One thing you need to know about the food at Auntie’s Chinese Burger is meat is secondary to the noodles. The meat in the noodle dishes is used to compliment the dish. Office Daddy had a little difficulty adjusting, as he prefers to eat mostly meat and tries to avoid carbs.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 6.58.13 PM.png

We ordered the Handmade Noodles with Lamb with Soup ($11.99), and the Spicy Minced Pork Handmade Noodles ($12.99). Food is made upon request, so it took about ten minutes for our food to arrive.

Screen Shot 2016-02-04 at 9.11.13 PM.png

If you like heat, I would highly recommend ordering the dishes medium to hot. I loved the use of chili oil in the spicy minced pork noodles. The noodles were toothsome and hearty.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 6.58.19 PM.png

The soup noodles were similiar to the dry noodles, but were chopped up in smaller pieces. However, the broth was not served hot enough for Office Daddy. He would have preferred if both dishes were served at a warmer temperature.

Our meal was a little more than we pay when we eat at Lucky Place and Chong Fat, but it was a treat to eat handmade noodles. Sharing these two dishes left us stuffed for the afternoon. Jaime wants to try Auntie’s Chinese Burger on Chinese New Year. I’m game, and I’m looking forward to upping the spice level in my next bowl of noodles.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Auntie's Chinese Burger Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

