Bars/Lounges · Beer · Brunch · Burgers · Comfort food · Sandwiches

Briggs Kitchen & Bar- Sharing is caring

I was contacted by a PR person from Briggs. This person thanked me for my reviews, complimented my humour and invited me to give them another shot, as I said in my previous post that the calamari wasn’t as good as it was the first time I tried it. Well… with me, flattery will get you everywhere.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.32.47 AM

Dr. J and her husband L Junior met us for dinner. We started with a bottle of red wine, Troublemaker ($55), and the boys drank cans of Bottle Rocket (Phillips). Our server Andrew promoted a shared concept menu, to which we agreed to try.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.32.21 AM

The first shared dish were the Smoked Brisket Sliders ($4 each). Dr. J loved the soft squishy buns. She thought the buns tasted like brioche.The tender meat was covered in a zingy bbq sauce and apple slaw.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.32.33 AM.png

Dr. J’s favourite dish of the night was the Aged Cheddar Fondue Dip ($13). She’s a cheesy sort of person, so it makes sense she liked this dip. The dip was smokey and tasted like there was a bit of truffle oil in it. Dr. J said if it wasn’t so hot, she would drink it.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.32.09 AM.png

Next up was the Crispy Humboldt Calamari ($13). This was served differently than the first two times I tried it. The calamari was cut into smaller pieces. The squid itself was tender. The lemon fennel slaw was a nice compliment to the squid. The tomato aioli was liberally drizzled all over the squid.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.31.58 AM.png

I really liked the Wild Mushroom Ravioli ($17). The ravioli was nicely stuffed with smoked mushrooms, served with caramelized onions and covered in poblano butter.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.31.47 AM.png

I loved the Not Those Brussels Sprouts ($10). The brussels sprouts (BS) were thinly shaved, mixed with bacon and honey. Oh my, magnificent. One of the best versions of BS in the city. Dr. J said it rivals Bo-Beau’s version in San Diego.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.31.10 AM.png

We enjoyed a plate of Seared Broccoli. The broccoli was still crunchy, covered in a heavy cheese sauce.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.31.31 AM.png

The Lemon Chicken Breast ($21) was one of my favourite dishes. I wouldn’t normally order lemon chicken at a restaurant, so I’m glad I tried this. This dish is worth ordering again. The lemon chicken is cooked, sous vide. The flavour of the lemon was subtle and the chicken breast was so tender.  The Asian fried noodles and bok choy were delicious.

Screen Shot 2016-01-30 at 9.31.22 AM.png

Another winner was the 8” Beef Short Rib ($26) with hash brown, crispy onion, and red wine jus. I couldn’t believe how tender and rich the meat tasted.

bill

When the bill came, our server asked us how much we thought the food was worth. It worked out to $31 dollars a person, a steal for sure. If you haven’t gone, do go and try the sharing concept. For dinner, this is one of the best deals in the city.

View my food journey on Zomato!

 

Briggs Kitchen and Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

