Chain Restaurants · Cheap Eats · Chinatown

Quickly

AC took me out for lunch, again. I don’t know what’s gotten into the guy. I won’t question his goodwill. I think I’m going to give him the pseudonym “Office Daddy” because of his paternal tendencies.

It’s been a while since I was in a bubble tea joint. I noticed a lot of young teenagers bopping around. We shared the Singapore Laksa ($10.95) and the Taiwanese Braised Pork Rib on Rice ($10.99). Office Daddy also ordered a dessert, Mango Pudding ($5.50).

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 8.22.49 PM.png

I loved both dishes. The laksa came with a boiled egg, sprouts, a generous amount of white chicken, fish balls, and tofu puffs. The white rice noodles were slippery and were the perfect medium to such a rich, sweet curry soup.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 8.23.58 PM

I found out from the owner of Quickly that the pork rib soup was made the previous night. I drank every drop of the broth. The soup is almost medicinal, filled with little bits of herbs, orange peel and roots that my late grandmother used in her soups. The pork was so tender and flavourful. Office Daddy said he suspected we got an extra portion of pork.

I was surprised that I enjoyed the mango pudding. The texture was soupy. I liked the tapioca balls and the fresh grapefruit and mango. I didn’t find the pudding too sweet.

Screen Shot 2015-12-22 at 8.22.41 PM.png

Office Daddy knows the owner, of course. Office Daddy calls her “Mommy”. No joke. I didn’t ask him why he called her Mommy, I’m going to guess because she’s a mother? In any case, I noticed that service was slow until Mommy returned to her restaurant. Let’s just say our food didn’t come so “quickly” until Mommy was in the house.

Quickly has three locations, the closest to me is located in Kensington. If the food is always this good, I’m going to be a regular. I can’t wait to come back. I left stuffed and happy.

Quickly Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

