Beer · Burgers · Cheap Eats · Comfort food · Curry · Dessert · Fusion · Happy Hour · Japanese

Redheads Bagel Cafe

Oh man. I just came home after eating at Redheads Bagel Cafe. The food was so tasty that I was pumped to write this blog post right when I came home.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.20.52 PM.png

L and I over-ordered again. The prices are so reasonable that I wanted to try everything. We picked a bento box with miso katsu, katsu curry, miso soup and a chicken karage sushi burger.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.21.08 PM

The salad dressing is fantastic. I want the recipe. Perhaps its a good thing I can’t duplicate the dressing at home because if I could, I’d put that %#!# on everything.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.21.17 PM

The chicken in the rice burger was juicy and flavourful. Despite the delicious deep-fried exterior, it still tasted healthy. At least, I felt comforted thinking it was not unhealthy.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.21.26 PM

You haven’t tried a real bento box until you’ve ordered one here. Holy moly, I couldn’t believe the amount of treasures in this box. Sweet and warm assorted Japanese root vegetables. Edamame. More of that addicting salad. Rice speckled with black sesame seeds. Katsu chicken with a light, thin miso sauce.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.21.42 PM

L always orders the Katsu Curry. He says there’s nothing better than Redheads curry on a cold night. This is rib sticking soul feeding comfort food.

Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 8.21.36 PM

The best part of the meal was a new dish at Redhead’s, which our server gave to us on the house. This dish is stellar. What do you get when you deep-fry hamburg made of Alberta’s finest beef? Redhead’s spin on hamburg. The exterior has this crunchy layer. The beef is soft and flavourful. Oh my. Good thing I was sitting. My knees were weak.

L and I shared a large Asahi, ate way too much food, and had the loveliest service. How much did this feast cost us? $37 bucks.

L and I love Redheads Cafe. He says the food transport him back to Kyoto. I’ve never been to Japan but with the economy the way it is, I’ll doubt I can go anytime soon. In the meantime, thank goodness for Redheads. I can eat my heart out, save money, and pretend I’m in Japan.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Redheads Japa Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Redheads Bagel Cafe

Leave a Reply

