17th Ave · Cheap Eats · Mexican

Tubby Dog

My sister-in-law Maggie spends quite a bit of time drinking beers and hanging out at Tubby Dog.  So, it was only natural for her to have her work going-away party there. Plus, she is friends with the owner.

 

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 4.24.47 PM.png

Inside and at night, it’s quite a cool place to hang out. Old school arcades line the walls.  A DJ played that night as well. I haven’t played an arcade game since I was in high school.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 4.08.18 PM

L and I ordered two tacos each. One beef and one chicken ($3). Each taco came with two wrappers and a generous amount of meat. I think we got more meat than usual, as I heard the owner say to the person who was making our tacos to add extra, as we were friends of Maggie. Tee-hee. I felt special. Dressed with cilantro, the tacos were plain but filling.

Screen Shot 2015-11-28 at 4.49.27 PM

L ordered the Tubby Dog ($7). As you can tell it was a loaded dog, covered in cheese, homemade chili, onions and mustard with a whole load of warm bacon bits. The chili was tasty. I should have ordered the Sumo Dog, which had seaweed and wasabi mayonnaise, as I heard from someone else that it is delicious. However, I was too full from the tacos.

The staff were friendly and were quick to keep up with the steady stream of orders. Tubby Dog is a fun place to stop by for a hot dog and a beer. Next time I’m in, I’ll try the Sumo Dog. After I work up an appetite playing Pac Man.

Tubby Dog Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

