Brunch · Comfort food

OEB – Best breakfast in town

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.40 PM

Yahoo! I found out that you can download an app, NoWait, and skip the line-up at OEB. However, our seats were given away because we had difficulty timing how long the line would move and arrived too late. The host told us we were next on the list, and so we were.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.02 PM

My co-workers and I scored a spacious booth. Our server was efficient and pleasant, offering suggestions and answering questions to my friends, who were newbies. We ordered a round of coffee and tea. My coffee was rich and delicious and refilled throughout our meal.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.18 PM

My friends were impressed with the food. Crazy Girl ordered Crab Eggs Benny while Buzzy ordered the Banana Stuffed French Toast. I tried a bite of both dishes. The crab was fluffy and didn’t have that fake taste you get in California rolls. The French toast was fluffy and the sauce was delectable.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.26 PM

I was torn between the duck confit ($16.99), Hogs and Scallops or the Gold Digga ($16.99) Soul in the Bowl. Based on our server’s recommendation, I ordered the Hogs and Scallops ($17.99), half with duck fried potato wedges and half of the fresh, organic spinach. I was impressed that they left me do the half of each option.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.12 PM

The scallops were seared beautifully on the outside. Sweet and silky smooth, the scallops were the highlight of the dish. I ordered the medium poached eggs, and it came as requested. The bright orange yolks were just soft enough to blend in with the rich browned butter hollandaise sauce. The little bits of bacon added a pop of smoky saltines.

Now that OEB has the NoWait app, I’ll be here more often. Breakfast food is elevated at OEB. All the ingredients are local and sing with freshness and flavour. Forget every other breakfast place in the city, get your ass here. OEB makes it on Fei Po’s list of favourite places to eat in Calgary.

View my food journey on Zomato!

OEB Breakfast Co. Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

