Burgers · Special Occasion

Charcut – Express Lunch

My co-worker CL and PB wanted to have lunch at Charcut. AC tagged along, even though he prefers to frequent Chinese restaurants over all else. AC is really eccentric. I think he gave off an odd vibe to our wonderful server Amanda.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.41.03 PM

First, AC thought it would be funny to lick the communal spoon and dip it back into the homemade ketchup. He did this right in front of Amanda. Amanda laughed it off and said she would bring some more ketchup for everyone else at the table. Then AC tucked his linen napkin into his shirt, peered his eyes quizzically at Amanda and slowly asked for her name. He then put out his hand and said, “My name is AC.” I felt so bad for Amanda because if I didn’t know AC, I would think, “OMG. Possible creepy dude!”

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.57 PM.png

I didn’t spy with my beady eyes the owners Connie and John in the house. Usually when I’m at one of their restaurants, I can see them working at the front. Not that I’m a stalker. However, despite their absence, the restaurant hummed beautifully. Service was polite and swift. Food was hot and delicious. The restaurant looked spotless.

We all ordered the lunch special, pulled BBQ pork sandwich, duck-fried fries with parmesan cheese, and tomato soup with wine sausage ($15). The meal was filling! The pork was so tender, covered in a tangy, sweet sauce. The fries were piping hot. The soup was comforting, packed with pieces of sausage. I can honestly say this was one of the best and most inexpensive meals I’ve enjoyed in a long time.

Screen Shot 2015-11-24 at 8.40.48 PM.png

For dessert, we received complimentary chocolate chip cookies, fresh from the oven. I found out from the pastry chef what type of chocolate is used in these cookies. I’ll give you a hint. It ain’t Chipits. Long live Charcut! Hip hip hooray! Charcut makes it on Fei Po’s list of favourite places for lunch in the downtown core.

Charcut Roast House Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

