Cheap Eats · Vietnamese

Lunch Today -HK Style Pho

Please note – the noodle soup served here is more of a HK style than traditional pho.

My buddy AC took me to Lunch Today, a Vietnamese restaurant near the 7 ST C-train stop. I wished he introduced me to this gem earlier. Lunch Today serves up the best value Vietnamese food in the downtown core. The food is basic but fresh and comforting.

Location

To find this restaurant, go to 736 6th Ave SW. Go up a flight of stairs and you’ll find Lunch Today. If you go around noon, you’ll see a long line-up. AC knows the owners Jenny and Raymond, a very sweet couple. The owners are extremely efficient and fast, so the line moves quickly.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.05.36 PM.png

AC ordered Chicken Pho and I ordered Sate Beef. Both bowls were served piping hot. AC informed me that Raymond makes the broth and cooks it for hours, with no MSG, which is why no additional condiments are needed. I agree. The broth was simple, salty and flavourful.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.03.53 PM.png

It’s impossible to go anywhere without AC bumping into someone he knows. This time around, we met B. B told me that he comes to Lunch Today often because the food is good and the value is outstanding. He told me that unlike the nearby food court, the pho served at Lunch Today has lots of noodles, meat and sprouts.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.03.35 PM

I couldn’t believe the amount of meat that was given to me. AC said the Raymond prides himself on buying high quality meat and shopping often for groceries, so that everything is fresh.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.03.45 PM

The noodles were perfectly cooked – bouncy with a bite to it. We also ate homemade vegetarian spring rolls, which had a satisfying crunchy shell. AC told me he’s drop by and saw the owners make it themselves.

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 9.04.02 PM

The food was so good, I ordered salad rolls to go. Of course, Jenny made it on the spot. Freshly wrapped, the roll was almost bursting with noodles, lettuce and shrimp.

Salad Roll

Lunch Today is a must if you work downtown. The food is downright cheap for the big portions. Plus, the owners are very sweet and kind people. Lunch Today makes its on Fei Po’s list of favourite Vietnamese spots in the downtown core. Again, for my pho snob friends, Leng Lui, note that Lunch Today serves up more of a Chinese style pho. I like it for what it is – fast, cheap and healthy’ish.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Lunch Today Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

