Chinatown · Chinese

Great Taste Chinese – What’s in a name?

Great Taste Chinese Restaurant gets to the point, just like me at work. What does this restaurant want to tell you? That their food has great taste! I appreciate their candour. There’s no ambiguity or mixed signals here.

Joking aside, I have another joke. My ex-neighbour is a wine connoisseur and he once said to me, “Wouldn’t it be amazing if there was a Chinese restaurant that had great wines and service?”. Well, Great Taste does serve wine and the service is well.. for lack of a different word, great!

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.54.09 PM

This Monday, I went to Great Taste with AC (aka my Calgary father), PB and Choi. We all ordered soup noodles. I ordered the lunch special, Dandan noodles ($9.99). The portion was filling but not overly so. The noodles were a little too soft for my taste, but the soup was creamy and pea-nutty.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.53.56 PM

The complimentary seaweed egg drop soup was light. I liked it, though I wouldn’t pay for it. For my money, I would rather sup on the fish maw or the hot and sour soup.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.54.03 PM

We ordered three rounds of the Shanghai soup dumplings ($7.99). The dumplings tasted great (of course)! CL taught us to gently pick up the dumpling by the “nipple” (she makes everything sound so dirty) and to nibble on the side and suck out the hot juices. Worth ordering again.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.53.49 PM

A few days later, I took out a graphic designer for lunch. She bailed my office a few times and I wanted to thank her. I wasn’t sure what she liked so I played it safe. We started off with a medium size bowl of Hot and Sour Soup ($11.95). Damn, this was fine soup! In fact, even better than great. Thick and spicy, spot on in the right balance of vinegar and heat. The soup was thick, crunchy with silky smooth lines of tofu. I liked the pieces of shrimp in it. Best hot and sour soup in town.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.53.42 PM

The Beijing Style Dumplings ($7.99) were simple but really well-done. The wrapper tasted homemade and was bang on with its smooth, thin dough. The filling was delicious with the taste of fresh green vegetables.

Screen Shot 2015-11-06 at 7.53.34 PM

The Beef and Cucumber Roll ($7.99) was tasty in a greasy sort of way. The pancake was super crispy and chewy. The roll could have used a bit more beef. Good portion. I was full.

Service at Great Taste was great. For those who complain that service at Chinese restaurants is not always great, you should check out this restaurant. Servers smile! Servers are polite! I even get a thank-you when I pay for the bill! Great Taste lives up to its name and deserves copious exclamation marks to show my enthusiasm!

View my food journey on Zomato!

Great Taste Chinese Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

