Chinatown · Chinese

Ho Won – Friday Lunch

AC and I were walking to Chinatown when we saw his friends B and A. AC asked them where they were going for lunch. B said, “Ho Won of course! We always go on Friday”. AC invited us along to B and A’s weekly tradition.

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.09.30 AM

We ordered the Salt and Pepper Squid ($11.99) because it’s one of Ho Won’s best dishes. I must have ordered this dish a dozen times. The squid is consistent though sometimes its more tender or the batter is not as delicate as it can be. Regardless in what state of perfection the squid is in, I’ve always enjoyed the big toothsome pieces and the level of spice in it.

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.09.50 AM

B saw another table order the Beef Hotpot and decided we should try it too. The pieces of beef were soft and flavourful. The onions had a good crunch while I thought the bok choy was a little overcooked.

Screen Shot 2015-10-31 at 9.09.42 AM

I really enjoyed the Assorted Fried Chowmein. Man oh man. The light crunch of the noodles was delicious. While I know the noodles were fried, hence the deliciousness, I didn’t find it oily. Lots of squid, shrimp, char sui and black fungus (wood ear mushroom) completed this textural delight.

A lot of people knock Ho Won on Zomato, but my foodie friends and I love the cheap prices and tasty deep-fried delights. Some dishes are hit or miss but generally, the food is a home run for me.

Ho Won Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

