Sandwiches

Vie Cafe – Market 17

One of my favourite places to pick-up groceries and get one of the best sandwiches in the city is Vie Cafe, which is inside Market 17 (which is inside the Casel Marche building). It’s a short walk from my house so I usually walk my dog to the store and park him at the dog lot. My dog anxiously chirps while I’m shopping, which is embarrassing because other customers always look around say, “Is that a dog? Is that dog okay?”. The employees are very nice about the noise disturbance and provide him with treats and cuddles.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.46.43 PM

The produce is very good. In the summer, the price of some of the local vegetables are on par with Safeway. In the winter, the cost climb up but I think the freshness and taste makes up for it. I usually pick up the brown mushrooms, kale, potatoes and the organic bananas when they go sale for being too ripe. The reduced price is super cheap and it makes for great banana bread. When the avocados become perfectly ripe, Market 17 usually sells them for a dollar. I also pick up olives, which I swear taste just like the ones served at Cassis, which is also located inside Casel Marche.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.46.55 PM

I think the local cheeses are well-priced. I usually get the ricotta, fresh mozzarella and the cheese curds. The mozzarella is made in Alberta and it is cheaper by weight than the generic stuff you get at Safeway.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.47.40 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.47.25 PM

What I really love about Market 17 is Vie Cafe. The baguettes are well-worth the cost ($7.50). My favourite is the roast beef but the vegetarian version is also tasty. There isn’t anything fancy about the baguettes, just high quality ingredients and the perfect ratio of the vegetables, meat/cheese and condiment spread. A little secret… if you near the end of the day, you can snag one of the sandwiches for the ridiculous amount of a dollar.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.47.33 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.47.47 PM

I’m going to try Vie’s coffee, as I see from other Zomato reviewers that it is good stuff. So there you have it folks. Vie Cafe and Market 17 get 5 Zomato stars from me. Excellent customer service, high-quality ingredients and wicked deals make Vie Cafe/Market 17 a Fei Po favourite.

Screen Shot 2015-10-20 at 8.47.16 PM

View my food journey on Zomato!

Vie Cafe Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

One thought on “Vie Cafe – Market 17

Leave a Reply

