Chinese · Dim Sum

Central Grand – Dim Sum Bliss

My buddy AC took a bunch us out for dim sum at Central Grand. My experience here was way better than T.Pot. The food was hot and fresh. The servers were attentive, partly because AC knows them and because he is a real sweet talker. He was all “leng lui” (pretty lady) this and ho leng (very pretty lady) that.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.10.45 PM

I never order deep-fried shrimp wonton so I’m glad AC ordered a plate. The shrimp ball was large and crunchy. The wonton wrapper was brittle and a tad oily. I was in heaven.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.10.59 PM

The BBQ pastry was flaky and filled with a good amount of minced BBQ pork. Delicious. The filling was warm and the ratio of meat to pastry was perfect. All the meat buns at Central Grand are delicious. A must-order if you come.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.11.09 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.11.23 PM

AC ordered shrimp and BBQ pork rice rolls. Central Grand sure doesn’t cheap out when it comes to the seafood or meat. The rice wrapper was smooth and silky, soaked in light, sweet soy sauce.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.11.36 PM

I tried cow stomach for the first time. I prefer the plain version (white) than the curried one shown above. The texture was chewy and clean. Yummy.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.11.55 PM

I also tried chicken feet for the first time. I resisted for a long time but peer pressure was fierce. Normally I can handle AC, but combined with a table full of pro-chicken feet eaters, I succumb to the pressure. I was heckled for not sucking the bone, but hey, at least I tried it. I thought the skin was too soft and I didn’t like the texture. Taste-wise, it was fine.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.12.02 PM

The shrimp dumpling was well-done. For a second, I forgot I was in Calgary. The shrimp ball was large, crunchy and sweet. The wrapper wasn’t gummy, over-steamed and it had a good resistance when I bit into it. I’ll give Central Grand an A for the how gow.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.12.09 PM

Pork spareribs in black bean sauce was typical, in a good way. Just a simple dish of fatty, juicy spareribs in a light sauce.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.12.16 PM

I don’t like using the phrase too die for, so I’ll say the BBQ buns are are to gain weight for. The pastry was soft and sweet, the perfect vessel for the warm BBQ pork filling.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.12.25 PM

C loves egg tarts. I tried one to appease her and though I don’t care for Chinese desserts, this one was good. Flaky crust, warm filling. Enough said.

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 8.12.33 PM

AC ordered tofu with ginger sugar sauce. I was too full to sample this dessert. I ate and ate and I really felt like a fei po. I was so stuffed that I was getting dim sum sweats and feeling hyper from all the MSG.

Roughly for all the dishes, some of which we ordered twice and some others that I’m too lazy to post, the bill came to about $23 per person. If my family comes to visit me, I would take them to Central Grand. For Calgary, I don’t think you can get much better than this.

Central Grand Restaurant Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

