Bars/Lounges · Brunch · Burgers · Cheap Eats · Mexican · Patio · Pubs

Mikey’s Juke Joint – Best Fish Tacos in Calgary

Mikey’s Juke Joint is must visit for anyone who loves a good fish taco. Known for its live music and food with southern and Mexican influences, this is one pub that L and I will frequent more often. When I was in school, L and I rented an apartment two blocks away from Mikey’s. It’s a shame we never ate there when we lived so close.

mike joint

Mikey’s reminds me of a 70’s style basement. There’s old chairs and tables, a pool table and mismatch of memorabilia. However, you come for the food, not the furniture.

beers mike

Our server told us the soup of the day ($6.00) – chicken and rice – was getting rave reviews from customers. I really liked the taste of lime and the fragrance of the broth. However, the soup was served lukewarm, much unlike the super hot corn cheesy jalapeño corn muffin. If the soup was served hot, I would have enjoyed it even more.

soup

Next up was a neatly packed, well-made chicken burrito. The rice was fluffy, the mixture of beans, stringy cheese and chicken each retained its individual flavour and texture. The bean sauce mixed with the cold sour cream really elevated this burrito. The fries were crispy and reminded me of New York Fries.

burrito

burrito1

The fish tacos were the best I had in Calgary and Mexico too. The spices in the tacos was addicting. I like how it was crispy but not over-battered, so you could enjoy the still juicy white flesh of the fish. The mix of cabbage and other vegetables were light and fresh. The tortilla had grill marks, giving it this smokey charcoal taste. I think Mikey’s fish tacos kick Local’s tacos in the balls.

tacos

tacos1

L and I ordered two beers, fish tacos, a burrito with fries, a large soup with cornbread and with tip and tax, this meal cost me under $50.00. I’d say for the flavour explosion, the food is a steal. Our server told me the crab and shrimp cakes, burgers and wings were all winners in her book. My co-workers C and PB plan to coming with me for lunch try the crab cakes and of course, more of those fish tacos.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Mikey's Juke Joint & Eatery Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

2 thoughts on “Mikey’s Juke Joint – Best Fish Tacos in Calgary

Leave a Reply

