Bars/Lounges · Burgers · Cheap Eats

Local on Stephen Ave

I always wanted to check Local out because of the all the positive reviews on Zomato and Yelp. I got the chance when B threw herself a going-away party at the nearby Bank & Baron at 8:00 pm. Before we dropped by B’s party, L and I stepped into a completely packed Local.

mail.google.co11m

The restaurant was packed with a twenty-something clientele. Back when I was a student, this was the type of place I would frequent. The beer selection was varied and better yet, a 14 ounce glass was only $5.50. I could hear Funky Cold Medina blasting in the background. For those of you who think they don’t know the song, let me jog your memory.

The girls all jockin’ at the other end of the bar
Havin’ drinks with some no-name chump
When they know that I’m the star
So, I got up and strolled over to the other side of the cantina
I asked the guy, why you so fly? He said, Funky Cold Medina

mail.google.com

L and I came for the fish tacos and I have to say, for $5.00, it was pretty tasty. The amount of fish was small but there was just enough to taste it in each bite. The was a lot of fresh, crunchy cabbage which helped to cut into the batter of the fish and the sweet garlic aioli.

calamarim

The calamari ($7.00) was underwhelming. The portion was very small, but I’m glad there wasn’t much to eat as it was greasy and flavourless. The worst part was the sauce – a mix of overly salty hot sauce and something creamy that didn’t go with the taste of squid.

I work nearby and would return again for the fish tacos at lunch. I saw other customers ordering burgers and wings, which looked good enough for me. Fei Po gives Local a solid Zomato rating of 3.5/5.

Local Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

