Bars/Lounges · Beer · Brunch · Burgers · Desserts · Seafood · Special Occasion · Steakhouse

Charbar – Yelp Elite Event

The main reason I’m on Yelp is because I love the Yelp Elite parties. Seriously, the Yelp social manager arranges epic parties with the newest and coolest businesses and best of all, the events are free!

wine red

In the three years that I’ve been going to Yelp Elite parties, Charbar was the most memorable. The food, ambience and service far exceeded any other bash I’ve been fortunate enough to attend. And all the Yelp Elite parties are fantastic, meaning that Charbar hit this one out of the park.

ceviche

Once we walked inside and went up the stairs, L and I were treated to ceviche, which was made on the spot for us. The seafood was so fresh and the acidity was bang-on. Throughout the whole night, my husband wouldn’t get his own dish to taste. Instead, he just picked off my portion. I love him to death but he was really pissing me off.

ceviche raw

I sipped on a full-bodied Shiraz Malbec, Bodegas Callia Alta, an Argentina wine that I found out cost only $45.00 at Charbar. My neighbour Esther visits Charbar quite often and told me she enjoys the Casa Ferreirinha Papa Figos, Sogrape Vinhos, a Portuguese wine that also costs $45 a bottle. Next time we visit, I’ll have to try her pick. She knows her wines and the price can’t be beat.

meat

L and I feasted on slices of 75 day aged porterhouse with aji picante aioli, chimichurri, white chimichurri green chimichurri, and red charred romesco “fire pit sauces”. The sauces each offered a different flavour profile.

shrimp

The best of the best, however, were the super large raw prawns. These babies were freaking fantastic. I ripped the shell off and even sucked at the head. L knew to back off. If he went for one of my prawns (yes, plural, I ate two), I would have forked his hand. We also ate raw oysters, shrimp, crab legs, two types of pizza and avocado pistachio dip.

Live music, wine from JustWineApp , and chatting with the owners of Charbar really made this party “elite”. Connie DeSousa (Canada’s Top Chef) was gracious and friendly, even though I came on a bit strong, asking if I could pen a book about her career. John was also amiable and chill as I ranted about the abuse public servants and people in the service industry suffer. I blame the generous pours of the Just Wine App representatives for my abrasive behaviour. My bad.

L and I will be back for the rooftop patio. Though the menu is limited to a burger, chicken sandwich and a handful of appetizers but the view alone will be worth it. It is truly stunning to be on the top of the building, gazing below at the view from the top of East Village.

Charbar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

