Restaurants

Wurst – Oktoberfest

Our buddy Trevor had his birthday bash at Wurst. I haven’t been in a long time (pre-2013 flood) but I was looking forward to eating some good German food. When I was a fat little kid, my father Ludvig use to take me to this all-you-can-eat German buffet on Robson Street in Vancouver. Ludvig thinks it was called Hofbräuhaus. I can still taste that creamy cold potato salad and the mounds of schnitzel I packed away. Unfortunately, that place closed down decades ago.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 5.43.32 PM

Back to 2015. Trevor had a table reserved for his party. L and I ordered a German beer, Erdinger Weissbier, which I enjoyed because it was a light refreshing wheat beer ($7 for 1/2 litre). We snacked on a giant stuffed turkey wing ($7.00) and shared the Schnitzel BLT ($16.00).

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 5.43.21 PM

The sausage stuffing inside the wing was quite tasty and I thought it went well with the vinegary hot sauce slathered on top of the skin. The temperature wasn’t hot nor was the skin crispy, but it still tasted good to us. The portion was worth the $7.00.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 5.43.53 PM

The schnitzel BLT was a small sandwich, but it made up for it taste-wise. The thin slices of rye bread was toasted, giving it a crunch. I liked the garlicky aioli spread and the addition of bacon. The fries were cold and stale, but the entertainment around us made up for it.

Screen Shot 2015-09-22 at 8.46.23 PM

My brother-in-law ordered the Franzels Mixed Grill ($68), a cast iron platter of meats for four people. The piece I really liked was the roasted pork. The crunchy skin was my favourite part, as it reminded me of the roast pork you can buy at a Chinese BBQ counter. Despite four hungry appetites, a good portion of the platter was left-over.

Our party was impressed with our server Christina, as she pleasantly managed our table and the jumble of separate bills. I enjoyed the general merriment that is encouraged at Wurst, such as the jumping on tables and singing along. I thought of Ludvig as I was swigging my beer and shouting. My father would always sing in German “Die Zauberflöte” (Sarastro/Magic Flute/Mozart). His friend, who is German, once told him that his pronunciation was awful.

I wish every Friday at Wurst was the opening night for Oktaoberfest. We were treated to a live oompah band, dancing and a guest appearance by ex-Calgary Flames goalie Mike Vernon. The official keg tapping was awesome. The keg sprayed over the floor and then everyone lined up to get a free beer. In fact, I had so much fun, I just might book my next birthday party at Wurst.

View my food journey on Zomato!

Wurst Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

