Bars/Lounges · Fusion · Special Occasion · Vietnamese

Raw Bar

On our most recent date night, L and I were in the mood for beers and oysters. On Fridays, Raw Bar offers dollar oysters and pints or prosecco for only $5.00. Whoo hoo! Now that is a reason to celebrate!

osysters

We ordered a dozen of oysters, a Lagunitas IPA, and a Blanche de Chambly for moi. My beer was cold and bubbly. Raw Bar offers a nice selection of draft beer – such as what we ordered and Sapporo, What the Huck, Canada 81/2 Village Brewery, Phillips Analogue 78, and Blacksmith India Black Ale.

beers raw bar

I saw Christina Mah, the general manager of Raw Bar, walking around in one of her usual gorgeous outfits. I go to Raw Bar often enough to know that everything she wears looks like a unique runway dress. She came over to say hi and she told me about a new dish, the Grilled Prawn and Noodle Salad ($14).

salad prawn

L wasn’t hungry so we ordered the Grilled Prawns and the Fried Boneless Chicken Thighs ($18). The prawn and noodle salad was so good, I wish I ordered my own. The large marinated prawns were charbroiled, crunchy and juicy. The chilled noodles were like spaghetti-like, with a light cream-like coating of peanut satay sauce.

raw bar chicken

L liked the Fried Chicken more than me. Sweet and savoury, the sticky battered glaze reminded him of General Tso chicken. The chicken itself was cooked well. I like the chicken a lot more than my recent experience with Olive Chicken. The portion was large enough to fill L and myself up.

chocolate raw bar

At the end of the night, Christina gave us two hand painted chocolate bars that pastry chef Karine Moulin created. The chocolate didn’t make the 10 minute car ride home. The soft chocolate filling tasted like there was a hint of cinnamon while the white chocolate had a faint citrus note. Great food and value has made Raw Bar my favourite date night spot. L and I plan to return to try the duck entree, and if he’s hungry, the fix price $35 (per person) family platter. Thank you Raw Bar for another great dining experience.

Click to add a blog post for Raw Bar by Duncan Ly on Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

