17th Ave · Bars/Lounges · Seafood

Pigeonhole

On Saturday night, I had plans with my friend Jaime. I put on my most comfortable shoes, wore my most stretchy pants, and put on a fresh pair of contacts. I stopped by Jaime’s place for a glass of wine before we walked over to 17 Ave for dinner.

room

I know Jaime always wants to try the newest hot spot. I heard good things about Pigeonhole, plus I follow the GM, Heather Wighton, on Twitter so I figured it would be a safe bet. We arrived around 7pm and landed a spot by the window.

strond

Jaime and I were really impressed with our server, Hanna. She was funny, witty and knew the menu inside and out. When she described the drinks and food, she waxed poetic.

pigeonholewine

I ordered a Hanky Panky cocktail ($12.00) because Hanna described it as strong and boozy. Made with Tanqueray, Punt E Mes, and Fernet, this drink had a punch to it. I could feel the drink uppercut my liver. I could taste orange and I think, juniper berries.

cheese

The Halloumi Cheese ($11) was kick-ass good. The cheese was firm and warm. With each nibble, I would swirl some of the pistachio sauce and a piece of the pickled celery or olive. The flavour of the pistachio was pronounced, as well tartness from the rhubarb.

dumplingd

The second snack we ordered was the Morels and Dumplings ($12). Oh wow. This dish is a stunner. The morels were soft, the dumpling skin was delicate. The herby filling tasted like there was ricotta inside. I loved the freshness of the peas. All together, the flavours were well-balanceed.

Pigeonhole calls these dishes “snacks”. I call it fine dining. This is food that I can’t make at home. For those on Yelp/Zomato that complain that the dishes are expensive for the portion, try shopping for some of these ingredients yourself and see how much that would cost you.

Click to add a blog post for Pigeonhole on Zomato

View my food journey on Zomato!

Leave a Reply

