Bars/Lounges · Burgers · Dessert · Seafood · Special Occasion

Chef’s Choice Menu – Yellow Door Bistro

Last week, I noticed on Facebook that Yellow Door Bistro was featuring a chef’s choice three course meal for $40.00, and a five course meal for $60.00. This deal was too good for me to miss. So on Friday night, L and I paid a visit.

I opted for the three course meal ($40) with wine pairings ($25), while L picked the Beef Cheek Burger ($20). For the month of May, wine pairings for the chef’s choice are 50% off ($12.50). I enjoyed the wines so much that half way through the meal I pondered if I should order another flight. L told me to pace myself, as we were heading to Raw Bar after our meal.

taster

The first course was a gift from the kitchen, crostini with watercress, strawberry fluid gel, toasted walnuts and tete de moine (cheese). Small in size, it was big in delivery, taste wise. The pairing of different flavours was creative and it worked.

pate

Our server brought over a glass of Kung Fu Girl to match with the second course, Chicken Liver and Foie Gras Parfait with toasted brioche. Ly’s pate was pure decadence, light, airy and rich. The presentation was gorgeous. The pate was decorated with chives, plated with pickled butternut squash, blackberries, shaved radishes, elder flowers, and beet pearls. This was my favourite dish of the night.

chicken, hen

The third course was Cornish Game Hen Sous Vide Breast, Broek Acres Pork Stuffed Leg with quinoa and sour cherry jus, paired with a glass of Route Stock Pinot Noir. The pork was tender, the stuffing slightly sweet. The quail meat was flavourful, while the skin had a hint of spices. The quinoa had a nice chew to it.

burger

L ordered the Smoked BBQ Braised Spring Creek Beef Cheek Burger. The soft meat was topped with celeriac remoulade, chimi churri aouli, arugula, heirloom tomatoes, little crispy fried potatoes, all on a homemade bun. L was crazy over the twice cook fries. The seasoning on the frites were so good, ketchup would only ruin it. I found out from Ly that the seasoning on the frites was a mixture of tomato powder, parmesan cheese, sea salt, malt vinegar and fresh parsley.

Dessert was Lemon Panna Cotta with lemon curd, raspberry fluid gel, almond and pie crust crumble, and meringue. The wine pairing for the dessert was Quails Gate Optima. I’m not a dessert person, but I scraped the plate clean. Again, this was an excellent matching of flavours and textures. The mildness of the panna cotta tamed the citrus in the curd, while the meringue and pie crust completed this lovely deconstructed pie.

dessert
L enjoyed our meal at Yellow Door Bistro so much, he wants to return for the chef’s menu on a regular basis. He also requested that I take the time to blog about our meal, because he felt Ly was so incredibly talented.
rawbar

I’m glad I restrained myself to one flight of wine, because Raw Bar makes some stiff drinks. Yes indeed, the bartender won my heart, as he made a killer Mint Julep ($12). The cocktail had the right balance of mint, sugar and bourbon. I’ll have to make Raw Bar my place of choice now for after work drinks.

Leave a Reply

