Japanese

Tenshi – Lunch Special

I received excellent news early Friday morning. To treat myself, I made an appointment at Swizzlesticks for a head of highlights and restocked on product. Though my vanity was satiated, my appetite was growing, so off I popped by Tenshi for a late lunch.
20131101_133528
Well past one o’clock, the restaurant was quiet. I ordered the sushi and sashimi special ($11.99). The accompanying miso soup was hot and salty, filled with plenty of seaweed and cubes of tofu.

The salmon and tuna sashimi were served both at a cool temperature. The slices of fish were generous, similar to what you get at Li-Ao. Taste wise, the salmon was nicely marbled whereas the tuna was firm and not stringy. However, I wasn’t as enthralled with some of the seafood. For example, one piece of fish was so chewy I gave up trying to eat it. The scallop was large, but a little fishy. The rice was also a touch gummy.

I still haven’t given up on Tenshi. I did like my past meal there and I would return for the salmon and tuna don. However, I don’t know if it is because of my age, but I’m finding myself less inclined to eat out, though when I do, I want to make it count. Tenshi does the trick for something cheap and quick, but my next sushi venture will be a revisit to my beloved Wa’s.

Leave a Reply

