Chain Restaurants · Dessert · Fast Food

Tutti Frutti – A-wop-bom-a-loo-mop-a-lomp-bom-bom!

sign

I received a tip from Miss Foodie, a reputable tweeter, that Tutti Frutti has a new line of Asian flavoured yogurt, such as taro, milk tea, matcha, and coconut. I don’t normally indulge in sweets, but based on Miss Foodie’s genuine enthusiasm, I went to check it out.

I was surprised to see that on a Monday night, Tutti Frutti was packed with customers. After tasting a variety of flavours, I can see why. This doesn’t taste like the yogurt that I ate as a kid. Times change, and I guess a lot has happen to frozen yogurt since I was young.

I sampled taro, milk tea, matcha, soy peanut butter and birthday cake. What I noticed was that each flavour was distinct, with its own unique texture. For example, the taro was rich, with the same smoothness and taste as the root vegetable. The matcha was strong and intense, with a sweet aftertaste. The birthday cake tasted like a blend of vanilla, white cake and sprinkles. The peanut butter didn’t taste like soy, rather, it was light, cold and creamy. I like the nuttiness and I thought it was bang on with the perfect balance of salty and sweet.

shot 1

I enjoyed all the flavours, though my favourite was the milk tea. It tasted like Chinese tea with honey, with a pleasant floral after taste. After some inquiring, I found out it was suppose to resemble the milk tea from Hong Kong cafes. Tutti Frutti uses the same brand as Hong Kong cafes, and the team steeps the tea leaves, and strains it.

I was impressed with the topping bar. There were rows and rows of toppings, ranging from the usual candy, fresh fruit, sauces, waffle chips to tapioca balls. What I really enjoyed was that the toppings tasted fresh and not stale, unlike some places. I can’t wait to go back and try some of the other flavours, such as black sesame and pumpkin. I’ll wait for Amanda to visit me next week, so we can get our froyo on.

Tutti Frutti Frozen Yogurt on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “Tutti Frutti – A-wop-bom-a-loo-mop-a-lomp-bom-bom!

Leave a Reply

