Vietnamese

Pho Express

L and I didn’t feel like cooking on a Monday night. Unfortunately for us, many of our favourite restaurants are closed on Monday: Himalayan; Cassis; and Wa’s. L and I felt like Vietnamese and felt our usual go to place, Song Han, was deteriorating in quality. I saw mcclane post a positive review for Pho Express on Urbanspoon, so I decided to check it out for myself. When we walked in, we were surprised to find the interior extremely clean and much nicer than the exterior would suggest.

IMG_0793

L and I shared the Chicken Satay Vietnamese Sub ($6.50) because I wanted to compare it to VietSub Express. The bread was crusty and warm. There wasn’t an ample amount of filling, but it worked since the bread was so light. I like the combination of flavours – the buttery layer on the bread, the sauciness of the chicken, and the pickled crunch of the onions and carrots. For value I prefer VietSub but for taste, I would pick Pho Express.

IMG_0797

L ordered the Charbroiled Lemongrass Chicken on Rice Vermicelli with Springrolls ($9.50). The fixings were standard: beansprouts, lettuce, carrots, cooked green onion and a heavy sprinkling of the peanuts. We could tell that the two springrolls were deep-fried in clean oil.

IMG_0802

I ordered the Sliced Beef and Beef Brisket Rice Noodle Soup ($8.25). The bowl arrived steaming hot, filled with an abundance of noodles. The meats were a bit fatty and tender. The broth was light in flavour with a touch of sweetness.

We noted the restaurant does a lot of take-out. I can see why, the owners take excellent care of customers, and the food is fresh and inexpensive. L and I will be ordering take-out more frequently from Pho Express.

Pho Express on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

