hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Pig & Duke – Canada v. Sweden

Premier Alison Redford made the announcement last Friday. The Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission authorized licensed establishments in the province to serve and open at 5 a.m. for the Mens Gold Medal Canada v. Sweden game. L insisted we go out to enjoy this unique opportunity.

A co-worker reserved a big table at the Pig and Duke. Packed to capacity, I estimated about three servers for the entire restaurant. In the kitchen, I could see two chefs whipping up plate after plate of food. Given the ratio, I thought service was great. Our petite blond server dealt with the crowd extremely well. If I were in her place, I would had a nervous breakdown, or at the very least, a stiff drink. However, I wasn’t so impressed with the customers.
coffee
I could hear customers at an adjacent table complain about the stupidest things. Their eggs weren’t done as specified, the toast was too toasty, and it took a long time to get a drink. Am I the only one who realizes it is 5:00 a.m.? Doesn’t anyone else understand the privilege to be served booze before the sun even rises, and to boot, there are people who are cooking us food?
breakfast
Enough of my rant, on to the food and beverages. I ordered Bailey’s with coffee. With a generous pour of liquor, the coffee was hot and creamy. I chased my coffee with a glass of Oyster Bay, because hey, its dawn and I’ll drink what I damn well want. As for the food, the egg was warm, the bacon and sausage better tasting than I make at home. The toast soaked up the booze, not that it mattered, as I wasn’t driving home. Add in the awesome energy of the crowd, and I was one appreciative customer. Thank you Pig & Duke, for hosting a great early morning party.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

