hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Much Love for Posto Pizzeria and Bar

For our bimonthly girls’ night, Jaime, Jen and I dropped by Posto for dinner. I wanted to get out of my comfort zone of Californian and Australian reds, so I ordered a glass of Tenuta di Arceno, Il Fauno di Arcanum, Tuscany ($13). I liked it, but after the first glass, I decided to order a glass of BonAnno, Cabernet Sauvignon, Napa Valley ($12.00). I really enjoyed the second glass, it was smooth and juicy, and rolled luxuriously around on my tongue.

Photo Credit :  Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit : Jennifer Lam

We shared a half order of the imported burrata, drizzled with olive oil and a teaspoon side of sea salt ($17). Next time, we'll have to order a full size, as a half order is not enough for three ravenous women.

Photo Credit: Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit: Jennifer Lam

Jen and I shared the Beef Cheek, Bone Marrow, artichoke, and mustard greens ($24). The beef was piping hot, soft and almost gelatinous, served alongside homemade honey Dijon mustard. The bone marrow was rich and buttery, a contrast to crispy garlic lemon breadcrumbs. I would order this dish again in a heartbeat, though next time, I’m not sharing.

Photo Credit: Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit: Jennifer Lam

We ordered Jaime’s favourite pizza, the Spinach, Shallot, Garlic, Chanterelles, and Grana Padano ($15). It was just as delicious as our first visit. The mushrooms were silky smooth and the sauce on the pizza was creamy. Jaime requested chili peppers, and our server Elena was thoughtful enough to also bring out fresh chili peppers for us to sample. I prefer the fresh peppers over the dried, as I preferred the sweetness and crunch.

Photo Credit :  Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit : Jennifer Lam

There was a mix-up when I ordered, and a prosciutto pizza was brought to our table. When I brought it to our server’s attention, both the operations manager and server told me not to worry, and the dish I wanted would be up shortly. I like the way they both handled that situation, as it removed any awkwardness that normally arises when there is a misunderstanding.

Photo Credit :  Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit : Jennifer Lam

Jamie the vegetarian ordered a side of kale salad ($8.00), with pecorino, walnuts, sundried cranberry, and puffed farro. She thought the dressing tasted like a non creamy Caesar. I liked the freshness of the walnuts and the pop of the farro. I would order this salad again, it was a winner.

Photo Credit :  Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit : Jennifer Lam


For dessert, we each ordered cannoli ($12.00). Piped to order, the dough was sweet and crunchy, while the custard was lemony with a whip cream like texture. I was tempted to order Posto’s version of doughnuts, orange rind infused fried batter with cinnamon chocolate, but instead, decided to order another glass of BonAnno. Jen ordered another dessert, but wasn’t in the mood to share. I don’t blame her, I’m the same way with my wine.
Photo Credit :  Jennifer Lam

Photo Credit : Jennifer Lam

Service and food was as fantastic as my first visit. Next up, I want to try Squid Ink Ravoli, and chef’s 3 course meal at the bar. After my third visit to Posto, I think I’m ready to explore their restaurant next door, Bonterra.

Posto Pizzeria and Bar on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

