hittingthesauce

“If more of us valued food and cheer above hoarded gold, it would be a much merrier world.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien

Jaipur – Steal of a Deal Lunch Special

My boss and I were out and about, preparing for a work trip up north. We were in Cochrane when she decided to stop by one of her favourite Indian restaurants, Jaipur. We were ushered into a private room by the entrance. The restaurant itself is small, neat, and nicely decorated. Service was friendly and helpful.
Lunch Special
We both ordered the lunch special ($10.00). Neatly presented on a large platter, we received: two triangles of buttered naan; a small samosa; a pakora; butter chicken; mixed vegetables; lentils; rice; and gulab jamun. The two pieces of naan was crispy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. The butter chicken was on the sweet side, drizzled with yogurt. The samosa and pakora was piping hot and not in the least greasy. I enjoyed the spices and heat from the mixed curried vegetables.

Considering the price, I was pleasantly surprised with the quantity, variety and quality of the food. My boss was wise and only ate half of what was on her plate. I couldn’t control myself and gobbled everything up. If Jaipur was located near my house, I would stop by weekly for lunch. L loves Indian food, so perhaps I can entice him to drive up to Cochrane for dinner.

Jaipur India Cuisine on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

